Memory Expanssion questions

Modding and Technical Issues

Moderator: Moderators

grondinm
Vic 20 Amateur

Memory Expanssion questions

Post by grondinm »

Hello,

I am very new to the VIC-20 world just got mine this week. (Pics cause i'm excited to have this) I also got one of these with it

https://www.nightfallcrew.com/18/05/201 ... re-vic-20/

Just to give me more RAM until i can afford to get a Penultimate+. Trouble is when i put it in my vic and have the switches in the 1A 2B positions i don't seem to be getting the full 16k expansion. My VIC tells me it has 9918 bytes available. That seems like an odd number even to me with my limited understanding...

I understand very little about memory maps in general but from what i gather memory available for BASIC needs to be contiguous and since this cart says it's adding to blocks 1&2 i figured i should have access to all of it. Or a number that makes more sense that 9918...

What am i missing here? Is it hardware related? How can i diagnose?

Thank you
16KVIC20
Vic 20 Nerd

Re: Memory Expanssion questions

Post by 16KVIC20 »

Sounds like you're only getting about 8K.

With 16K expansion you should see 19697 Bytes free.
Have you tried different combinations of switch positions, do you definitely have the correct combination?

If so, maybe you have a dud chip in the RAM pack, or maybe there could be a dud trace on the connector on the cartridge, or a dud slot in the VIC 20.
I'm no expert, and could be wrong, but they seem possible places to start from.

I've never had switched expansions like this, only ever fixed, and nearly always 16K, as my name would suggest! I think it's the sweet spot for a VIC 20.
grondinm
Vic 20 Amateur

Post by grondinm »

Thanks for the reply.