VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
gmc
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:17 am

VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by gmc »

Just started messing around with VICE 3.4 on Ubuntu as I want to start leaning assembly again.

Installed VICE and ROM files as well as dos1541. The runn xvic and setup the drive
- Select cbm 1541
- True drive emulation
- IEC

After that if I run

Code: Select all

load"$",8
I get:
searching for $
?file not found
error
I've tried all sorts of options but can't seem to get a list/or load files.

If I use the same dos1541 and settings (with C64 ROMs) with x64 it works perfectly.

Is there something I'm missing? Anyone got this to work?

Log files if it helps:
*** VICE Version 3.4 ***

Welcome to xvic, the free portable VIC20 Emulator.

Current VICE team members:
Marco van den Heuvel, Fabrizio Gennari, Groepaz, Errol Smith, Olaf Seibert,
Marcus Sutton, Kajtar Zsolt, AreaScout, Bas Wassink, Michael C. Martin,
David Hogan.

This is free software with ABSOLUTELY NO WARRANTY.
See the "About VICE" command for more info.

Loading system file `/home/greg/.vice/VIC20/kernal'.
Loading system file `/home/greg/.vice/VIC20/basic'.
Loading system file `/home/greg/.vice/VIC20/chargen'.
VIC20 kernal patched to 901486-07.
MPS-803: Error - Could not load MPS-803 charset 'mps803'.
Palette: Loading palette `/usr/lib/vice/PRINTER/mps803.vpl'.
NL10: Error - Could not load NL-10 ROM file 'nl10-cbm'.
Palette: Loading palette `/usr/lib/vice/PRINTER/1520.vpl'.
DriveROM: Error - 1540 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1540 emulation is not available.
Loading system file `/home/greg/.vice/VIC20/dos1541'.
Loading system file `/home/greg/.vice/VIC20/dos1541II'.
DriveROM: Error - 1570 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1570 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 1571 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1571 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 1581 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1581 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 2000 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 2000 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 4000 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 4000 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 2031 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 2031 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 2040 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 2040 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 3040 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 3040 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 4040 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 4040 emulation is not available.
DriveROM: Error - 1001/8050/8250 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1001/8050/8250 emulation is not available.
Drive: Finished loading ROM images.
using GTK3 backend: OpenGL
Creating GtkGlArea widget.
GdkGlkContext is in modern (OpenGL 3.2) mode.
opening dynamic library libmp3lame.so failed!
ERROR setting up dynamic lame lib!
Sound: Available sound devices: pulse alsa dummy fs dump wav voc iff aiff mp3 soundmovie
Joystick: Linux joystick interface initialization...
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js0'.
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js1'.
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js2'.
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js3'.
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js4'.
Joystick: Warning - Cannot open joystick device `/dev/input/js5'.
Keyboard: Loading keymap `/usr/lib/vice/VIC20/gtk3_sym.vkm'.
Keyboard: Warning - gtk3_sym.vkm: !LCBM !VCBM !LCTRL !VCTRL !SHIFTLnot defined.
Main CPU: starting at ($FFFC).
Main CPU: RESET.
Drive 8: RESET.
Drive 9: RESET.
Drive 8: RESET.
Drive 9: RESET.
Sound: Opened device `pulse', speed 44100Hz, fragment size 2.9ms, buffer size 101ms
reSID: MOS6581, filter on, sampling rate 44100Hz - resampling, pass to 19845Hz
Writing configuration file `/home/greg/.config/vice/vicerc'.

Exiting...
Sound: Closing device `pulse'
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by srowe »

From your description it isn't clear if you're trying to read/write to disk images or to a physical disk drive.

To run and attach to a disk image use

Code: Select all

xvic -8 myimage.d64
or the "File, Attach Disk Image" option in the GUI.

talking to a physical drive will depend on how it is hooked up (parallel port or USB).
gmc
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:17 am

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by gmc »

i'm trying to load/save programs using IEC (OpenCBM), not a physical disk.

With dos1540 selected and IEC ticked I can list, load, save files on the local file system using x64 for the C64.

This does not work for the Vic 20 so I'm unable to load/save files locally.
groepaz
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1187
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by groepaz »

says it right there in the log:

Code: Select all

DriveROM: Error - 1540 ROM image not found. Hardware-level 1540 emulation is not available.
xvic uses 1540 by default, so it will need a rom for that (or switch to 1541)
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4841
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by Mike »

gmc wrote:i'm trying to load/save programs using IEC (OpenCBM), not a physical disk.
:?: :?: :?:

This is exactly the purpose of OpenCBM, access to a physical CBM drive with a X-Cable.
With dos1540 selected and IEC ticked I can list, load, save files on the local file system using x64 for the C64.
I very much doubt that this scenario works in the way you think it does. With real hardware a 1540 does not work reliably with a C64. Quite likely, x64 checks that condition and reverts to TDE off. By that measure, it also allows access (again) to a directory on the host OS.

To set straight these things:

TDE ON either allows access to *.d64 images or physical access to CBM drives via "use IEC device" (implying drivers like OpenCBM and hardware like the X-Cable being involved).

Only with TDE OFF it is possible (read: allowed!) to access files in directories on the host OS. In that case VICE VDrive provides file I/O, limited support for certain CBM DOS commands (rename, scratch, etc.) but no sector access *) and no emulated drive CPU.
groepaz wrote:xvic uses 1540 by default
This is, IMO, a default setting which creates more problems than it solves.

I almost immediately reverse it to 1541 when I newly install VICE somewhere.



*) sector access with VDrive is possible within a disk image
groepaz
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1187
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by groepaz »

Why is that so?
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4841
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by Mike »

groepaz wrote:Why is that so?
I've seen quite some VIC-20 demos which reprogram the drive fail with an emulated 1540, but they work with a 1541.

Will come up with more detailed examples later this evening.
gmc
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:17 am

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by gmc »

Thanks for the explanation. I clearly have no idea how it works :)

With TDE it seems to ignore this setting so I thought as it was enabled on the C64 and it worked, then it was needed.

So now this is really driving me mental.
It just refuses to work for the Vic 20.

I've run some comparisons between the x64 and xvic:

C64
  • TDE disabled
  • Drive type: 1541
  • IEC (OpenCBM) disabled
  • Device type: File system

Code: Select all

LOAD "$",8
device not present error

  • TDE disabled
  • Drive type: 1541
  • IEC (OpenCBM) enabled
  • Device type: File system
Can list files from local file system:

Code: Select all

LOAD "$",8
LIST
Vic20
  • TDE disabled
  • Drive type: 1541
  • IEC (OpenCBM) disabled
  • Device type: File system

Code: Select all

LOAD "$",8
device not present error
  • TDE disabled
  • Drive type: 1541
  • IEC (OpenCBM) enabled
  • Device type: File system

Code: Select all

LOAD "$",8
device not present error
groepaz
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1187
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by groepaz »

to make access to host filesystem work, you must enable "Virtual Devices"
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
gmc
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 22
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2018 9:17 am

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by gmc »

Yessss!!! That did it. Thanks a million.

I must have had I enabled for the C64 but not the Vic.
Now enabled and works as expected with:

TDE disabled
Drive type: 1541
IEC (OpenCBM) disabled
Device type: File system
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4841
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: VICE. Unable to get IEC working with xvic

Post by Mike »

Mike wrote:Will come up with more detailed examples later this evening.
Here's a list of demos I've checked, and which reprogram the drive:
  • veni vidi VIC!
  • old days
  • robotic liberation
  • ancient school
  • vici iterum mmii
  • large unified theory
  • Gnork! *)
  • VICart
Of the lot, robotic liberation bails out with a CPU jam when a 1540 is connected. All these (also RL) run fine with a 1541.

Well ...

*) Gnork! hang on the first try with a 1540, but I couldn't reproduce that


P.S. for completeness, I've also checked the VIC-20 version of HYPRA SYSTEM (PAL only). Also works fine with a 1540.
Post Reply