How load games from Gamebase20 to a real VIC-20?

Discussion, Reviews & High-scores

Moderator: Moderators

Commodorianen
Vic 20 Drifter

How load games from Gamebase20 to a real VIC-20?

Post by Commodorianen »

Hi,

I'm pretty new to the VIC-20 and I'm wondering how to load games from gamebase20_v03 to a real VIC-20...

If a game has a000 in the file name, such as Galaxian-a000.prg, I guess it should be loaded to the cartridge area (a000), which must contain expansion RAM, but how do you do that in practise? I guess you have to change the load vector somehow before issuing LOAD to load the game to a000. How do you do that? Which SYS command do you then issue to start the game?

Some games contains two files, such as Buck Rogers-6000.prg and Buck Rogers-a000.prg. I'm not sure if that means that you have to load both files, one to 6000 and the other to a000, before starting the game.
Mike
Herr VC

Re: How load games from Gamebase20 to a real VIC-20?

Post by Mike »

That issue is not specific to files from Gamebase20, but applies to all cartridge ROM dumps for the VIC-20.
Commodorianen wrote:If a game has a000 in the file name, such as Galaxian-a000.prg, I guess it should be loaded to the cartridge area (a000), which must contain expansion RAM, but how do you do that in practise? I guess you have to change the load vector somehow before issuing LOAD to load the game to a000. How do you do that? Which SYS command do you then issue to start the game?
First of all, you need a RAM expansion that covers all necessary blocks. In the two given cases, BLK5 (at $A000, for both), and for Buck Rogers, additionally in BLK3 (at $6000). A +32K RAM expansion covers all blocks normally used by ROM game cartridges.