COCO2 Game Editor for the VIC

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
Schema
factor
Posts: 1430
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:07 am
Website: http://www.jammingsignal.com
Location: Toronto, Ontario

COCO2 Game Editor for the VIC

Post by Schema »

I borrowed this cool program from Centallica. Here is the disk image.

http://www.jammingsignal.com/vic20/coco2-vic20.d64

I have no idea why they called this COCO2. It's an "educational game maker" for the VIC20 with 16K expansion. Because of the name, it's hard to find anything about it on the Web. :roll:

When you run the COCO2 program, it just freezes. It gets stuck in a loop at $3D7A, not sure what that code is supposed to be doing.

Using VICE :oops: I was able to get the program running by breaking execution and typing G 3D85, which is where it looks like the next chunk of code starts. Maybe one of you 6502 gurus can dig a bit deeper into the problem?

I also have the manual but it's over 100 pages :shock: It seems to be reasonably self expanatory though.
User avatar
Schema
factor
Posts: 1430
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:07 am
Website: http://www.jammingsignal.com
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Post by Schema »

To get it running on a real VIC, type

POKE 15747,240

before typing RUN. This changes the offending BNE to a BEQ. Still no idea why the code has that loop in it though.
Centallica
Pinballer
Posts: 1090
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:26 am

Post by Centallica »

Leif,

Did you try the cassette that came with it as well, to see if that worked?

I guess it's not a double sided floppy with another version on the other side too :evil:

Have you been thinking of playing "Bonks" lately, I sure have :P
Brian
User avatar
Schema
factor
Posts: 1430
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:07 am
Website: http://www.jammingsignal.com
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Post by Schema »

Unfortunately, the tape gives ?LOAD ERROR and the resulting program is gibberish :( I'm fairly certain the tape drive is OK as other tapes load fine.
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

Let's see..

Code: Select all

3D7A LDA #$00
3D7C TAY
3D7D STA ($33),Y
3D7F LDA ($33),Y
3D81 AND #$04
3D83 BNE $3D7A
16-bit address at $33-34 is set to point to $9111, or 37137 in decimal. By pulling joystick up, the program starts. You may have to pull a couple of times, since the loop keeps writing zero to that register - is it configured as both input and output at the same time?
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
User avatar
Schema
factor
Posts: 1430
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:07 am
Website: http://www.jammingsignal.com
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Post by Schema »

There's a little insert sheet that talks about plugging in your "Joystick Adaptor" before powering up the VIC. I assumed they meant joystick, but maybe there was a dongle protection system?
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

Not much of a protection if any joystick would work. On the other hand, I've only tried it via emulation, maybe it is much harder to bypass on a real VIC-20.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
CurtisP
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 99
Joined: Tue Mar 08, 2005 8:24 pm

Post by CurtisP »

Schema wrote:There's a little insert sheet that talks about plugging in your "Joystick Adaptor" before powering up the VIC. I assumed they meant joystick, but maybe there was a dongle protection system?
It was a dongle. I have an original in a box with the dongle somewhere. Never got to use it since I didn't have RAM expansion though.
Sparky
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri Jan 27, 2006 6:53 pm

Post by Sparky »

Centallica wrote:Leif,

Did you try the cassette that came with it as well, to see if that worked?

I guess it's not a double sided floppy with another version on the other side too :evil:

Have you been thinking of playing "Bonks" lately, I sure have :P
Brian
there is always time for "Bonks Adventure" hey Schema i thought Centallica had turn to the Dark side when i saw Coco 2 it being a name of a TRS-80/Tandy product :D very odd.
Centallica
Pinballer
Posts: 1090
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2005 11:26 am

Post by Centallica »

CurtisP wrote: It was a dongle.
I'd like to know what a "dongle" is personallly :lol:

Is it like a dong that gets shaken afterwards :wink:

Brian
Post Reply