Arcade Game Designer

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

highrise
Vic 20 Newbie

Arcade Game Designer

Post by highrise »

Hello everyone

My name is Allan. I'm actually a z80 game coder, and I helped work on updating an engine for a game designer which uses a simple syntax to then assemble games into machine language. Originally it was exclusive to the ZX Spectrum, developed over many years by Jonathan Cauldwell, and dozens of excellent games have been written. The engine supports software sprites, room layouts and so on and is fast and easy to use even for beginners. I myself have completed three games which have been published. It's a great way for less experienced coders to create games, and is one of the reasons the Spectrum homebrew scene is so healthy.

Recently the engine has been converted to the 6502, and as a result dozens of games which were designed on the ZX Spectrum are now playable on the Acorn Atom and the BBC Micro. A 6809 engine is also in progress, with other machines under consideration.

I was recently playing a few games on the Vic, and it seems to me that the expanded (probably 32k) Vic would be a great machine to add so we're looking for someone interested in maybe joining our team to help with that. We're a very relaxed group, there is no pressure or deadlines, we just enjoy working together on the challenge and the excitement of seeing games written on one machine being converted to another without any change to the core code, because each system has its own compiler and engine. The system outputs source code in assembly which can then be built, or edited if you have the experience.

A full windows dev environment is also in the works, with the ability to test before compilation via a javascript engine.