Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

tonyrocks
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 118
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:17 pm
Website: http://www.tonyrocks.com
Location: Pittsburgh
Occupation: IBM Watson Engr

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by tonyrocks »

I so want to see the Pitfall conversion, but it appears that all of the game images are broken in that thread.
User avatar
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by beamrider »

tonyrocks wrote:I so want to see the Pitfall conversion, but it appears that all of the game images are broken in that thread.
Link on first page is working for me...

https://docs.google.com/file/d/0BypQg4Q ... 1wSHc/edit
User avatar
pixel
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:56 am
Website: http://hugbox.org/
Location: Berlin, Germany
Occupation: Pan–galactic shaman

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by pixel »

I find the raster trick ideas very appealing. But the timings will be tighter than rubber boots of size 2. Have been thinking about dynamic rasters for upgraded sprites alone and that's not exactly fun to figure out. AFAIK one would have to generate code for that for each frame on the fly. So, software scrolling is out and double buffering would also be required.
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Kakemoms
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:45 am

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Kakemoms »

pixel wrote:I find the raster trick ideas very appealing. But the timings will be tighter than rubber boots of size 2. Have been thinking about dynamic rasters for upgraded sprites alone and that's not exactly fun to figure out. AFAIK one would have to generate code for that for each frame on the fly. So, software scrolling is out and double buffering would also be required.
Yea, its going to be problematic to do raster tricks for both background and sprite..

Anyway, I made a small mockup of a sprite without raster effects:
mario.zip
(2.44 KiB) Downloaded 355 times
At least he looks like Mario. Kind of moonwalks from right to left, as I didn't bother turning the sprite.

Adding background is ok, but for overlay with the sprite one is still limited to the 3 colors of mario. But I guess a small area black->blue for small pixels are not going to be very annoying.. I'll see what I can find out there.
hasseapa
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 264
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 4:09 am

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by hasseapa »

Kakemoms wrote:
Anyway, I made a small mockup of a sprite without raster effects:
mario.zip
At least he looks like Mario.
Very nice. The original Mario is well designed and this definitely looks like him. Atarisofts C64-version of Donkey Kong shows that double-width pixels work well for Mario, but I am surprised how well even wider pixels work.
Kakemoms
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:45 am

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Kakemoms »

Also with some mockup ground movement when you move too far in either direction:
mario2.zip
(2.52 KiB) Downloaded 362 times
Ground is basically char blocks that are rotated with ROL or ROR. Not very systematic. I will try to add some other things with the same effect, but pixel scrolling with char map will consume a lot of real estate. I am wondering what the bushes will look like using this method. I did draw something in black streaks and was planning to color them inside with raster effects (background color change). It (the green color inside) will be limited to 4 pixel scrolling due to that (= 1 cpu cycle), but the color bleeding on a normal CRT would probably not make it stand out very much. Maybe it will look ok.
hasseapa wrote:Very nice. The original Mario is well designed and this definitely looks like him. Atarisofts C64-version of Donkey Kong shows that double-width pixels work well for Mario, but I am surprised how well even wider pixels work.
I was thinking of calling him Super Bob or something. Mario's pixelated uncle. He kind of looks like Mario, but any resemblance is quite coincidental.
User avatar
pixel
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:56 am
Website: http://hugbox.org/
Location: Berlin, Germany
Occupation: Pan–galactic shaman

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by pixel »

Very nice! You wouldn't believe how much time I spent on just running around. ;) But I'd be baffled if you can make it soft-scroll with the missing tiles.
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Kakemoms
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:45 am

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Kakemoms »

pixel wrote:Very nice! You wouldn't believe how much time I spent on just running around. ;) But I'd be baffled if you can make it soft-scroll with the missing tiles.
Aww, sorry for late reply!

I almost had that working (or maybe it was), before I plunged into hardware-mania again. Then I had to travel again so it is just on standby for some days. :roll:
User avatar
R'zo
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 514
Joined: Fri Jan 16, 2015 11:48 pm

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by R'zo »

gave the demo a try. Amazing work! Looks wonderful. The controls and screen scroll are incredibly smooth.
R'zo
I do not believe in obsolete...
User avatar
Ola H
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:08 pm
Website: http://www.athleticdesign.se/
Location: Sweden

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Ola H »

I feel obliged to add to the chorus :) Looks lovely and so fast, smooth and responsive that it sursprisingly enjoyable to just run and jump around. Even a vastly simplified Mario game, looking and feeling like this, would be a very worthwhile Vic game!
Last edited by Ola H on Fri May 04, 2018 11:31 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by beamrider »

Well I thought I better chip in...the attached MarioDemo2 needs 8K

Be sure to scroll up/down then left/right with joystick to initialise the routine properly...

I threw this together with my beta Tile and Map screen designer

The import text can be found here. Paste into the Data Import/Export and click LoadText

I use the items in the Tools Menu to generate unique character pairs that can be shifted for the smooth scrolling.
Attachments
MarioDemo2.zip
(2.82 KiB) Downloaded 325 times
User avatar
Ola H
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 172
Joined: Thu Aug 20, 2015 6:08 pm
Website: http://www.athleticdesign.se/
Location: Sweden

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Ola H »

So fetching!

There's just something special about seeing that familiar side-scrolling landscape on a Vic. I get way more itch to play Mario than I get seeing it on the NES. And this really looks alluringly chunky, while still very faithful to the original :D
Last edited by Ola H on Fri May 04, 2018 3:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kakemoms
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 740
Joined: Sun Feb 15, 2015 8:45 am

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by Kakemoms »

Hmm.. I can't get it to work? Have been looking forward to test this the whole day.

I run Vice 3.1 with 8K enabled. Tried both PAL and NTSC. Same result.

Edit: Sorry! I forgot to do the joystick thing. Looks very nice!
User avatar
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1452
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by beamrider »

thought I'd add some music too.....
Attachments
MarioDemoMusic.zip
(4.03 KiB) Downloaded 345 times
User avatar
pixel
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1357
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:56 am
Website: http://hugbox.org/
Location: Berlin, Germany
Occupation: Pan–galactic shaman

Re: Super Mario Bros for VIC-20

Post by pixel »

I wouldn't be hurt if one would reuse the bit of graphics I made earlier with the screen designer. :D

Amazing how for the VIC is being pushed in just a few years...
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
Post Reply