Page 1 of 1

JS Vic20 update log

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:14 am
by matsondawson
I've implemented the Firefox sound API now...

http://www.mdawson.net/vic20chrome/vic20.php

>> EDIT renamed title so i can log changes in one thread.

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 7:01 am
by Kweepa
Superb!
Seems to work perfectly with 5.0 and 6.0!

Posted: Wed Aug 17, 2011 3:55 pm
by rhurst
Very nice indeed (humanoid)!! 8)

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:44 am
by matsondawson
Now implemented.
* Proper aspect ratio
* New menu system
* Ability to select model, NTSC/PAL
* Load Cart/PRG from URL.
* A cycle based 6560 emulation (previous wouldn't handle interrupts etc)
* Added 2nd via and proper via emulation (previous only had VIA1).

Known bugs:
* Datapop, Robotic warrior, doesn't work properly, can't quite work out what the issue is.
* Keyboard may get bunged (have a feeling I know what may be going on).

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:52 am
by matsondawson
Added
* Ability to load programs directly from an embedded link...
e.g.
http://www.mdawson.net/vic20chrome/vic2 ... kman-8k.a0

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 5:11 am
by joshuadenmark
cool 8) thanks.

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 10:53 am
by FD22
Runs like a dog in Safari on iPad. But it does run. Coolness. :)

Posted: Thu Aug 25, 2011 3:15 pm
by matsondawson
Yes, on my machine in safari is borked, yet it uses webkit which is the same as Chrome which is the fastest. In terms of CPU usage for one 3GHz core I get.

Chrome: 25%
IE 9: 25% no sound
Firefox: 90%
Safari: 100% cannot keep up, no sound
Opera: 100% cannot keep up, no sound

All portables run at stupidly slow speed, and there's not really much I can do about it. I'm thinking of adding some more frame skip for them.

Posted: Fri Aug 26, 2011 5:43 am
by matsondawson
Have just added a debug menu with an execution trace option.

Posted: Sat Apr 28, 2012 8:00 pm
by matsondawson
Lots of changes...
* Added ***FULLSCREEN*** which is only supported on latest firefox and chrome. Thanks to whomever the vic20easterbunny is for that.
* Removed hover menu system, now you have to click (I hate hovers)
* Made a completely new debug screen which shows you VIC and VIA states (it's slow atm, with some bugs/UI to resolve)
* Added a "Edit/View Basic program" (has issues with escape codes atm), cool to load a basic program then view its source.
* Added "Edit an assembler program"
* There's now a Speed menu 100% or unlimited.
* Added a tape deck (load only), supporting TZX, CSM and PRG.
* Added more reference links.
* Fixed the Branch not taken interrupt bug.

Still lots to do!

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 8:53 am
by MicroPet
I just tried it out on my netbook with Chrome. It ran really slowly but it's still super impressive nonetheless. Do you think it can be speed optimised or is that just not possible in JS?

Out of curiosity, would something like this run much faster in HTML5?

Regardless, great work. :)

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 9:41 am
by CBR125R
With IE7...
------------------------------------------------------
Windows Internet Explorer:
<!> Your web browser does not support the 'canvas' tag.
Please upgrade/change your browser.
------------------------------------------------------

I am on my work machine, but I will try later on my laptop at home.

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 1:16 pm
by Mayhem
Yeah, only IE9 of the series supports it to my knowledge...

Posted: Sun Apr 29, 2012 3:02 pm
by matsondawson
Yeh, nothing under IE9, even then IE9 doesn't support sound.
Your best bet is latest Chrome, then Firefox (remember to turn off firebug if you have it installed).

As for speed, I am slowly working on a faster version, I think I should be able to get at least a 5x speed up. What sort of laptop do you have? As I have a dual core 2.4Ghz and it runs fine in Chrome. It might be your Operating System as well. I have noticed XP to be slower than Windows 7. Maybe make sure your not using the laptop Power Saver as well.

Posted: Wed May 02, 2012 1:21 am
by nbla000
WOW, Very nice job !