BasEdit.NET

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Mayhem
High Bidder
Posts: 3027
Joined: Mon May 24, 2004 7:03 am
Website: http://www.mayhem64.co.uk
Location: London

Post by Mayhem »

Cheers... yeah it'll make life easier :)

Just have to decide where to put the non-PC Commodore characters on the keyboard of course (such as the two arrows)...
Lie with passion and be forever damned...
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

Schlowski wrote:Maybe this will help you to determine what to change so you can search for the right keys inside Keymap.txt :

http://www.lgwm.org/lgwm/images/PC_Germ ... _large.gif
It could be useful for an Italian keymap too :wink:
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

About the keymap, why you don't use same vice keymap files ?

There are a lot of keymap files for the C64 but seems incompatible with the Vic..., they are:
gp2x_pos.vkm
gp2x_sym.vkm
os2_sym.vkm
win_pos.vkm
win_sym_de.vkm
win_sym_it.vkm
win_sym_us.vkm

btw for the vic there are both positional and symbolic keyboards map:
win_pos.vkm
win_sym.vkm
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

Yes, but they use a different scheme than I use for BasEdit. And I'm simply not motivated to rework my entire keyboard translation routines as it was difficult enough to get them working...

It's only a few keys you have to change, on the other hand, so I think I leave my routines unchanged and burden the heavy work on your shoulders 8)
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

Schlowski wrote:It's only a few keys you have to change, on the other hand, so I think I leave my routines unchanged and burden the heavy work on your shoulders 8)
OK but you need at least a variable on BasEdit.ini to set the proper keymap to avoid that an update overwrites existing modifies...
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

Good argument.
In fact for the moment you can simply delete the Keymap.txt because it's a 1:1 substitution for the default values in BasEdit. So if BasEdit does not find a Keymap.txt it's using German keyboard layout by default...
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

OK, just to inform you, I've found some issues on syntax check and TOK64 ascii translation but I will send you a full report.

About syntax check, any chance to update the program to skip a first syntax error and go to the next error with a message box like this:

Code: Select all

syntax error in line:
1 PRIT

Continue ?

[YES]  [NO]
With [NO] you will do the same as now for [OK], while [YES] continue check from the next line, by using this method you avoid problems if a wrong syntax error was detected...
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

For my very best customer I will do everything possible :-) I hope to get some time soon to fix at least some minor issues...
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

Schlowski wrote:For my very best customer I will do everything possible :-)
:D :D :D

I've discovered a small issue when you export an ascii text by using any tokenizer, take a look on this code:

Code: Select all

3040 A=(2^BI)
it is exported in ASCII as:

Code: Select all

3040 a=(2~bi)
it should be exported like the petascii mode by using the char ^, I'm wrong ?
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

Ah, you're right, that should be easy to correct. Another topic on my list :-)
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

New version 1.40 uploaded:
- ^ and ? will be now correct when exporting as ASCII
- new setting in BasEdit.Ini: KeyMap=KeyMap.txt
- Syntax check now gives the opportunity to ignore an error and resume with the next line

I also renamed Keymap.txt to Keymap_German.txt and commented the "KeyMap=" key in BasEdit out so that it should not read in any Keymap file by default.

The syntax check simply shows a message box with the offending source line, this may look strange as the standard windows font does not know about PETSCII special characters... If time permits I will enhance this feature as mentioned earlier with a window and a complete error list for the whole program at once.
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

Schlowski wrote:New version 1.40 uploaded:
Thank you.
- ^ and ? will be now correct when exporting as ASCII
Verified, ok.
- new setting in BasEdit.Ini: KeyMap=KeyMap.txt
Nice, I will try to release an Italian version.
- Syntax check now gives the opportunity to ignore an error and resume with the next line
Yes, It works as awaited, very good btw sometimes I get a program crash during the syntax check, this is an example:

Code: Select all

10 a$=chr$(34):poke44,32:poke8192,0:printchr$(147)
20 printchr$(147)"load"a$"joypaint"a$",8"
30 poke631,19:poke632,131:poke198,2:new
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

I would suspect line 20 to be the cause, will investigate...
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

If you want, I have other programs with the same problem, so just contact me if you want to check them too.
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
User avatar
Schlowski
NoMess!
Posts: 892
Joined: Tue Jun 08, 2004 12:20 pm

Post by Schlowski »

New version 1.41 uploaded:
- Bugfix for syntax check

@nbla000: Now your sample passes the syntax check. That was an error concerning the PRINTCHR$(147) command, I got a little bit confused while trying to evaluate if it's a valid numeric or string construction after the PRINT command.
Please check against your other samples and mail me anything which does not pass the syntax check.
Post Reply