Bitmap animation

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Ivanhoe76
Vic 20 Devotee

Bitmap animation

Post by Ivanhoe76 »

I know, i'm a rookie, but I'm trying to learn how I can get a good smooth bitmap animation on the vic. I thought to use the way described on Compute! Magazine (i.e. create a series of u.d.g., each one shifted of one pixel to simulate a bitmap animation). My question is: is this the only way to create smooth animation in basic since it requires the waste of a lot of u.d.g.?
No one should tolerate death and violence because tolerance will generate habit.
carlsson
Class of '6502

Post by carlsson »

I believe the thread you want to read is software sprites initiated by rhurst. Of course it requires you to at least party work in machine code, ideally using the ca65 assembler. The idea behind software sprites is to allocate a few user-definable characters and copy another graphic into them, dynamically shifted as you go.

Perhaps it would be possible to add a Basic API to the library, at least so you can set up sprites and get them animated by a series of SYS calls or similar.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
Mike
Herr VC

Re: Bitmap animation

Post by Mike »

Ivanhoe76 wrote:i.e. create a series of u.d.g., each one shifted of one pixel to simulate a bitmap animation ...
At least three ways spring to my mind here:

1. All shifted specimen within the actual character set,
2. Some (e.g. 2 or 4) characters dedicated to the sprite, and copying from a set of pre-shifted data outside the actual character set, or
3. Only holding an un-shifted definition, computing the shifted sprite data on-the-fly.

While the 1st method occupies the most place within the "live" character set, it's also undoubtedly the fastest, since you only need to POKE 2 or 4 characters in screen RAM to move the figure by one pixel. It might even be viable from BASIC, as the article in Compute! suggests.