Is VIA emulation cycle-exact in VICE xvic?

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie

Is VIA emulation cycle-exact in VICE xvic?

Post by Zagon »

Hi Denial people,

A short introduction: I'm new here and new to the vic 20 but I've been doing some 6502 programming in the past for the Commodore family of 8-bit computers so I wouldn't call myself completely green. However this is my first project on the vic 20.

I've been toying with a library for the vic 20 that emulates raster interrupts by reprogramming the one-shot
timer of the 'NMI'-VIA-chip.

The library allows for multiple "raster"-interrupts in one screen.
The interrupt triggers the same amunt of cycles from the beginning of the default centered screen
for both PAL and NTSC sytems. This makes it easy to write rasters that works on both systems.
Since a via timer is used it is also possible to do cycle-stable routines. the provided test-program
des this.

I've got it working in VICE but I'm not sure how much I can trust the xvic-emulation.

I would be very grateful if someone could test the provided prg file on the real thing, both PAL and
NTSC and see if it behaves the same as it does in vice.

The program displays three black lines as wide as the text-screen and cycle-exact centered
at the text screen and returns the prompt. The lines should be stable and not jitter.

The linked zip-file contains the test prg, called rnmi.prg, and the complete sourcecode for it, including
the library.

http://hem.bredband.net/magli143/vic20/rnmi.zip
carlsson
Class of '6502

Post by carlsson »

Welcome, Swedish (?) friend.

It is my belief that VIA is very well emulated in xvic. Up to now the trailing behind has been the VIC-I chip which still is explored.