Question about PC RAM.

Other Computers and Game Systems

Moderator: Moderators

ral-clan
plays wooden flutes

Question about PC RAM.

Post by ral-clan »

I am pretty new to modern PCs. I have a slightly older PC (IBM Thinkcentre 8187) with 1GB RAM inside. It has two empty memory module slots so I'd like to add just a little bit more memory. Apparently I need memory modules like this:

333Mhz 184-pin PC2700 DIMMs, SDRAM

Furthermore, my computer is dual core, so apparently I need to balance the RAM in the two slots (always buy memory modules in matched pairs).

So, being cheap, and not needing much more RAM, I was thinking of either getting two 256MB modules, or two 512MB modules.

Online, I can find TONS of sites offering new and used 333MHz 184-pin DIMMs. That is if I omit the "SDRAM" keyword from the search.

If I add "SDRAM" to the search specification, the results are reduced by a lot.

Is that because there ARE such things as non-SDRAM modules? Or is it just a case of the product description neglecting to mention the SDRAM part, but it really is SDRAM.

For example, on the site TigerDirect.ca I can find ONLY this product if I search for "DDR PC2700 SDRAM":
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/ ... DR%20SDRAM

...and that's it. That's the ONLY matching product that has "SDRAM" included in its description.

But if I omit the "SDRAM" keyword from the search, I get tons more products:

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applications/ ... mage12.y=0

So, does it really matter if I see SDRAM in the product description or not? Perhaps all PC2700 DDR RAM is SDRAM by default? No?

Any help is appreciated.

Oh, and if anyone has modules like this for sale, please PM me. Thanks.
carlsson
Class of '6502

Post by carlsson »

I am fairly confident all PC2700 memory are the same, give or take such features like CAS latency (CL2, CL3) and possible ECC mode.