strange homebrew cart.

Modding and Technical Issues

Moderator: Moderators

CrAlt
Vic 20 Drifter

strange homebrew cart.

Post by CrAlt »

Hello all. Vic noob here.

I got this cart with my vic 20. Its for my packet radio modem. The modem plugs in to the USER port uses a program thats called "TERMINAL 40". I type SYS40960 in to start the software. All good.

But the other day i noticed that when the cart is plugged in my ram goes up to 11775. :o
Is this cart also a 8K expansion cart?

The board says "VIC 20 16K ROM CARD"
"GLOUCESTER COMPUTER INC"
"GLOUCESTER MA 1983 USA"

There are 4 spots for chips. LOW1,HIGH1,LOW2,HIGH2
In high2 it looks like an EPORM (D2764A)
In LOW1 we have a HM6264LP-15 chip.

I googled that and learned that it is a 64 k SRAM chip.

How do i find out how much total ram this cart is adding? Anyone think it will work as a real 8K expander?

Thanks
Leeeeee
soldering master

Re: strange homebrew cart.

Post by Leeeeee »

CrAlt wrote:But the other day i noticed that when the cart is plugged in my ram goes up to 11775. :o
Is this cart also a 8K expansion cart?
Yes it is.
In LOW1 we have a HM6264LP-15 chip.

I googled that and learned that it is a 64 k SRAM chip.

How do i find out how much total ram this cart is adding? Anyone think it will work as a real 8K expander?
The HM6264LP-15 is an 8K byte low power static RAM chip so the cart will also work as just an 8K expander.

You could also, if you wish, replace the EPROM with another with any other 4K or 8K $A000 cart ROM image burned into it.

I would also assume that with two more 6264s and perhaps some wire jumpering the card could work as up to 24K bytes of RAM expansion.

Lee.
CrAlt
Vic 20 Drifter

Post by CrAlt »

Cool!

Thanks leeeeeeee
6502dude
megacart

Post by 6502dude »

Since eprom on the board is in /BLK5 address space (you start your terminal program with sys40960), you should be able to pull the eprom from its socket and burn rom image of any 8K game and have it auto start.