Poll: What do you do for a living?

Discuss anything related to the VIC
Jeff-20
Denial Founder

Poll: What do you do for a living?

Post by Jeff-20 »

I know it is a personal question, but what do you do for a living? I am just curious as to how this hobby relates/influences your chosen careers, jobs, professions. Anyone work in the tech industry?
High Scores, Links, and Jeff's Basic Games page.
carlsson
Class of '6502

Post by carlsson »

Currently web programmer (not designer - I'm not so good with graphics and colours) in the travel industry. I'm working with PHP most of the day.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
vic user
VicGyver

Post by vic user »

for me, i think you are right, about this hobby influencing my employment.

although my background is in biology, because of my interest and non stop talking about computers, i am often the guy to go to, in the event something goes wrong with a computer at work (Candadian Hydrographic Service), and they don't want to call the help desk.

Eventually i got offered to run the Print On Demand shop, where i get to play with some amazing large format printers.

Still want to get back into the biology, but for now it's a cool job. unsupervised, my own office, my own hours, and plenty of gadgets!
carlsson
Class of '6502

Post by carlsson »

Do you have some scientific project where you can interface a VIC-20? Maybe you know it was rather popular for such projects, at least compared to the C64 which has more stuff going on and harder to interface timing critical stuff (I've heard). Ten years ago, about right after I had re-bought a VIC, I was asked by a pal to sell it to him to be used in some project.
Anders Carlsson

vic user
VicGyver

Post by vic user »

i am still massively interested in hooking up the vic to external devices, like a digital thermometer etc..

i just picked up a book on how to make robots for the vic 20, so that should be fun to read.