Modern Vic uses

Discuss anything related to the VIC
Jaicen
Vic 20 Dabbler

Modern Vic uses

Post by Jaicen »

Hey guys, i'm new around here so Hi to everyone!
Basically I was wondering if anybody could help me out with a few ideas really.
I'm not quite old enough to be an original Vic user, I cut my teeth on the C64 which I love more than anything! I recently got another old C64 bullnose, and thrown in with that was a Vic 20 with a broken keyboard.
Now, having never used one before I can't say I have any particular use for it in mind. The c64 is going to become a MidiboxSID synth so I can use the keyboard from that for the Vic, but then what do I do with it??
I've been looking at the VicTracker program, but I can't seem to do anything with it at all! I also downloaded the Synthesound program but I can't get that to run.
All that is pretty much a roundabout way of asking wether anyone has any uses for the Vic that are relevant to modern life. I'm a musician, so sound apps are my main focus, but i'm open to suggestions.
Thanks for the help guys,
*j
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes

Post by ral-clan »

The VIC sound chip (actually part of the VIC chip which does a lot of other things) only produces square waveforms (and noise). (Actually it can produce some other strange waveforms but this is more complicated - and not discovered until recently). Still, the square waves can sound pretty cool if you like a retro-electronic sound.

The only really usable music software for the VIC would be VIC-Tracker. In fact in can be synced to a sequencer (via Midi Time Code or MIDI Clock - can't remember) if you make a special cable and have a DIN-SYNC to MIDI converter box....

You can't trigger notes on the VIC-20 this way, you can only sync your VIC-Tracker compositions with your external MIDI gear/sequencer/drum machine this way.

Would be nice if someone designed a MIDI interface and software which would make the VIC a MIDI instrument, but maybe this is asking too much.