Need Vic20 Music/SFX

Discuss anything related to the VIC
furroy
Vic 20 Drifter

Need Vic20 Music/SFX

Post by furroy »

I'm working on an RPG project, but I have no musical abilities... Looking for someone to help out! I have the VicTracker2.0 irq player already integrated, but if you have another tracker you would prefer and there's asm for an irq player, happy to switch.
forest.png
chysn
Vic 20 Scientist

Re: Need Vic20 Music/SFX

Post by chysn »

An alternative to composing music is to use algorithmically-generated music. I'm an electronic music composer, but I've found that unexpanded memory is insufficient to store "notes" in most cases. So I use various forms of generative music in my games. Each of my games does it a bit differently, for variety, but the skeleton is based on a decade-old hardware synthesizer module designed by Tom Whitwell* that does this:

Code: Select all

(1) Randomize two 8-bit registers
(2) On a trigger (usually, but not necessarily, controlled by a clock):
  (a) Shift both registers left, and set bit 0 of each register to the carry bit of the other register
  (b) Potentially reverse the value of bit 0 of the "low register" based on probability
(3) Continuously emit voltage (0-5V) scaled to the value of one of the 8-bit registers
Usually the voltage from (3) is sent to the volt-per-octave input of an oscillator, either directly or via a quantizer for using specific musical modes, and often through an attenuator to limit the notes' range. For the VIC-20, you can either directly set a sound register to the shift register value or (better yet) use the value as an index to a note in a specific game-appropriate musical mode.