Addressing into screen memory, how?

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

MartinC
Vic 20 Drifter

Addressing into screen memory, how?

Post by MartinC »

in another thread, chysn wrote:[...]
Thanks for the reply. I'm using the CMB PRG Studio environment's assembler. I'm just starting out learning the language and trying to figure out how to load the screen map I exported and display it. Using "Top-Down Assembly Language for your C64 and Vic20" as a guide, I'm trying to cobble together a routine to do this. But, I'm stuck :-)....

I've written a routine that I want to read through the screen map and put each character in the x and y position I track through the X and Y registers. But when I need to read the character from the map using indirect addressing something like

LDY #0
LDA (SCMAPL),Y

I have overwritten Y and lost track of which row of the screen I am on. Why do I need the Y value anyway in the LDA call? Thought I might be able to push Y onto the stack and pop it off again, but that doesn't seem to be a thing without going through A first??? Which then means I lose by character value...

I'm probably making this harder than it needs to be, any pointers (pardon the pun) gratefully received.

Cheers

Martin
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist

Re: Addressing into screen memory, how?

Post by srowe »

MartinC wrote: Sun Nov 06, 2022 8:07 am Why do I need the Y value anyway in the LDA call?
Because there are two addressing modes that give you indirection through a zero page pointer but they both also use an index register. If you can spare using .X then you can always clear it and use

Code: Select all

LDA (SCMAPL,X)
Juggling registers on the 6502 can be frustrating, you often need to store them in memory (preferably zero page).
chysn
Vic 20 Scientist

Post by chysn »

MartinC wrote: Sun Nov 06, 2022 8:07 am I've written a routine that I want to read through the screen map and put each character in the x and y position I track through the X and Y registers.