"Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

I've released a new version (1.5) that has a few minor bugfixes and one new feature. You can search for entries in any of the loader menus by pressing '/' and entering a string. The menu will then only show those entries that match that substring (case insensitive).
User avatar
mathom
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:37 am
Location: Centennial, Colorado
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by mathom »

I finally got around to playing with this. The batch flashing sure works a treat!
...mathom...
Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 9:37 am

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by Zagon »

I would like to test the new version so I have downloaded a snapshot of the 1.5 tagged commit.
But I can't build it due to missing python stuff. How do I set up a working build environment?
Alternatively, is there a pre-built zip for 1.5 somewhere that I've missed?

Also, is it possible to clone the git-repo somehow?
User avatar
mathom
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 80
Joined: Wed Aug 07, 2019 11:37 am
Location: Centennial, Colorado
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by mathom »

I believe the file linked in the first post of this thread is the prebuilt version you are looking for.
...mathom...
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

Zagon wrote: Wed Jul 26, 2023 11:32 am I would like to test the new version so I have downloaded a snapshot of the 1.5 tagged commit.
But I can't build it due to missing python stuff. How do I set up a working build environment?
Alternatively, is there a pre-built zip for 1.5 somewhere that I've missed?
There's a prebuilt binary here: https://eden.mose.org.uk/download/final-expansion.zip
Also, is it possible to clone the git-repo somehow?
You should be able to do

Code: Select all

$ git clone https://eden.mose.org.uk/final-expansion.git
The only dependency should be dasm.
Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 9:37 am

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by Zagon »

Thanks for the link to the 1.5 download and the git clone URL.

I have now managed to build all but the examples folder. It depends on some d64 tools that I don't have in my environment.
(I had to download a snapshot of zippy.git and extract it in the zippy-folder since the zippy.git git module wouldn't work)

But anyhow, I can now build binaries (firmware_pal.bin, firmware_ntsc.bin) that match the ones provided in the download zip for 1.5 which is really nice!
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

Zagon wrote: Thu Jul 27, 2023 12:44 pm I have now managed to build all but the examples folder. It depends on some d64 tools that I don't have in my environment.
Ah, the examples. I had forgotten about those.
(I had to download a snapshot of zippy.git and extract it in the zippy-folder since the zippy.git git module wouldn't work)
It's a git submodule so you need to do

Code: Select all

$ git submodule update --init
I'll add some instructions about all this to a file. thanks for the feedback.
Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 9:37 am

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by Zagon »

By following the new building instructions for final-expansion.git visible in git view, I am now able to build the examples too. Thank you, this is great!
However, I find that the clonable final-expansion.git repo is now three commits behind what's shown in git view. Is this by intention?
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

Zagon wrote: Thu Aug 03, 2023 1:17 pm By following the new building instructions for final-expansion.git visible in git view, I am now able to build the examples too. Thank you, this is great!
However, I find that the clonable final-expansion.git repo is now three commits behind what's shown in git view. Is this by intention?
I'm not sure I understand what you're seeing, what does

Code: Select all

$ git fetch ; git log --stat -1 origin/master
show you?
Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 9:37 am

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by Zagon »

It shows the following:

Code: Select all

$ git fetch ; git log --stat -1 origin/master
commit 3fcd251ffd4af2b7ab728009b21f821f8ad1a442 (HEAD -> master, origin/master,
origin/HEAD)
Author: Simon J. Rowe <srowe@mose.org.uk>
Date:   Mon Jul 10 08:20:08 2023 +0100

    Fix comment

 wedge.asm | 2 +-
 1 file changed, 1 insertion(+), 1 deletion(-)
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

Looks like I was missing a hook for that repo. Try pulling again.
Zagon
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun May 10, 2009 9:37 am

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by Zagon »

It works now as expected, thank you.
User avatar
MrSterlingBS
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2023 2:56 am
Location: Germany,Braunschweig

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by MrSterlingBS »

Hello,

I downloaded the Bad Apple demo. This works great in VICE.

Is it possible to load the FE in VICE itself with software? And if so how?
If I have mounted a floppy disk, no directory is given in the disk menu. I used Mike's minigrafik.d64 as the disc.

Best regards
Sven
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1340
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by srowe »

MrSterlingBS wrote: Wed Aug 09, 2023 3:26 am Is it possible to load the FE in VICE itself with software? And if so how?
Yes, VICE fully emulates the FE3, just give it the appropriate ROM image

Code: Select all

xvic -pal -cartfe firmware_pal.bin
User avatar
MrSterlingBS
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 174
Joined: Tue Jan 31, 2023 2:56 am
Location: Germany,Braunschweig

Re: "Ultimate Expansion" - new firmware for FE3

Post by MrSterlingBS »

Thanks for your reply. The FE3 Starts. But when i mount a .d64 disk i can not see the files at the disk loader. Are there any orher settings to make in the VICE?
Post Reply