Jupiter Lander Variants

History and Preservation Issues

Moderator: Moderators

chysn
Vic 20 Scientist

Jupiter Lander Variants

Post by chysn »

I bought an older copy of VIC-1907 Jupiter Lander, because I didn't have any of the really early cartridge labels. The one on the left is the one I just bought, and the one on the right is the one I've had since 1981:
IMG_5456.jpg
When I plugged it in to try it, I was surprised to see that the color is actually different. Here's the one I just got, with the red landscape:
IMG_5454.jpg
and here's the one I've been playing for 40 years:
IMG_5453.jpg
I haven't observed any other differences beyond the landscape color.
VIC-20 Projects: wAx Assembler, TRBo: Turtle RescueBot, Helix Colony, Sub Med, Trolley Problem, Dungeon of Dance, ZEPTOPOLIS, MIDI KERNAL, The Archivist, Ed for Prophet-5

WIP: MIDIcast BASIC extension

he/him/his
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist

Re: Jupiter Lander Variants

Post by srowe »

Interesting, I've just noticed that the background is also red in the screenshot shown in the advert on page 64 of "A Visual History".
Screenshot_20220724_071108.png
Screenshot_20220724_071108.png (110.15 KiB) Viewed 3045 times
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist

Post by beamrider »

I did a facebook post about this ages ago, but it seems to have disappeared.

I still have the image showing the different variants and what they look like.

It appears super-lander was a red planet with a title, Jupiter lander changed to green and removed the title, although Jupiter-lander on the 64 is red. I suppose they could have also put Jupiter lander labels on Super-Lander cartridges and vica-versa during the transition.

Thinking about it, they probably removed the title so they could use the new Roms in any cartridge shell and packaging.
chysn
Vic 20 Scientist

Post by chysn »

I didn't notice before, but now that you point it out, my red one does say VIC SUPER LANDER on the title screen.
beamrider
Vic 20 Scientist

Post by beamrider »