Does the basic interpreter eat up my bytes?

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

aitsch
Vic 20 Amateur

Does the basic interpreter eat up my bytes?

Post by aitsch »

for a basic project i move the character memory to $1c00 and place my 8 custom character directly behind the screen (7680 - 64).
the basic code can have all bytes before my 8 characters.

for a while the programm runs ok but after a while my characters are changing step by step.
there is no POKE command which could change the memory and the program always pass through the same basic lines.
after the unwanted character change i stopped the code and run "PRINT FRE(I)". it prints out nearly 200 bytes of free memory so my understanding is, there is enough free memory for variables and buffering and ... .
i cannot find any reason of this behavior in my code so i suspect the basic interpreter use the last bytes downwards for whatever.

i'm not really a basic expert. can i prevent this changes or do i pass the limit?
Mike
Herr VC

Re: Does the basic interpreter eat up my bytes?

Post by Mike »

This is the string heap growing from top of memory which overwrites your (currently unprotected) character data.

I'm sorry, but this is really basic (in the actual sense of fundamental, not the language's name errorneously written in lower case) knowledge when you go about redefining characters!

With POKE55,...:POKE56,...:CLR as first commands in your BASIC program you can protect a portion of RAM from use by the BASIC interpreter.

Edit: On the unexpanded VIC-20, the default values for 55/56 are 0 and 30, respectively, with the screen at $1E00. Normally, user defined characters are placed before the screen, somewhere in the range 7168..7679 (i.e. $1C00..$1DFF), and 55/56 are defined so both screen and UDGs are protected. Is there any specific reason you move the screen to $1C00?