Page 2 of 2

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sat Oct 04, 2014 4:06 pm
by groepaz
i dont even use the symbol features, although i know the vice monitor very well, and i am using ca65 and acme (which can spit out symbol files easily). an inc bordercolor here and there is all i need. singlestepping is so... meh =P

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sun Oct 05, 2014 4:06 am
by FD22
After many years as a DASM aficionado I have now switched to KickAssembler, which rather neatly generates VICE symbols automatically. I also finally invested a good chunk of time in getting my head around WUDSN and Eclipse, which has resulted in me switching fully from N++/DASM to WUDSN/Kick.

In the process I found a bug in WUDSN regarding writing the output file to a relative subfolder of the project (it doesn't realise where the output file has gone and halts with an error) but have not been able to find a contact email for the author to report it.

However, I did report a bug I also found in VICE - symbols for zero-page locations were not being referenced by the disassemble command. That has now been fixed in the nightly builds (from r28490 onwards).

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Tue Oct 07, 2014 11:21 pm
by Jeff-20
[quote="rhurst]
[youtube]QX9NkF0Tc9E[/youtube]

So if you ask me, you're all soft. :P[/quote]

Hahahahahahahaha


Sent from my iPhone 6 Beta using Tapatalk

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:54 pm
by Shaun.Bebbington
I'm a big fan of CBM prg Studio, but use other tools such as Notepad++ and others.

Regards,

Shaun.

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Wed Oct 08, 2014 4:43 pm
by FD22
Might have found a bug in Kick. Reported it today.

Code: Select all

			.eval makecart = true												// Conditional assembly trigger - override for cartridge

			.import source "opcodes.asm"										// Undocumented opcode pseudocommands
			.import source "storage.asm"										// FAST-40 memory definitions
			.import source "memorymap.asm"										// VIC-20 memory definitions

			.if (makecart) {
				.pc = $a000														// Cartridge origin assembly point
				.text "A0"														// Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM)
				.byte $C3,$C2,$CD
				.word init40													// Cartridge cold start vector
				.word init40													// Cartridge warm start vector
			}
			else {
					.import source "basicstub.asm"									// BASIC stub macro
stub:			:BASICStub(8,"blah")	// BASIC stub definition
					.import source "relocate.asm"									// Relocation logic
			}
This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Thu Oct 09, 2014 4:01 am
by Mike
FD22 wrote:

Code: Select all

			.if (makecart) {
				.pc = $a000														// Cartridge origin assembly point
				.text "A0"														// Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM)
				.byte $C3,$C2,$CD
				.word init40													// Cartridge cold start vector
				.word init40													// Cartridge warm start vector
			}
I know this is unrelated to your problem with KickAssembler, but I'd like to point out, that the autostart cartridge header first contains the two vectors for reset and NMI in $A000 .. $A003, and then follows the "A0CBM" signature.

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:28 pm
by FD22
Copypaste typo whilst extracting the code snippet. Wanted to demonstrate that other directives work OK inside the if-block, it's just '.import source' that has a problem.

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sat Oct 11, 2014 5:27 am
by groepaz
This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.
kickass sucks like that - including another source doesnt work inside a block. the suggested (imho very ugly) workaround looks like this:

Code: Select all

                
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "0" ? "default/scrolltext1.asm" : "empty.asm"
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "1" ? "default/scrolltext2.asm" : "empty.asm"
ie you must not use a block

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Wed Oct 22, 2014 4:20 am
by Victragic
'Way back when' I coded most of Frogger '07 on a real Vic using Hes Mon -- *

however, it was a stupid approach and I had to finish it using DASM and gVim as the editor. I've used CA65/CC65 too but find DASM 'good enough' for my purposes and feel comfortable with it.


*You're all soft..

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 4:49 am
by nippur72
Back in 2007, when I was an active VIC-20 developer, I wrote a custom language that was a mix between assembler and visual basic (or quick basic). It really made the difference for me, indeed it was very easy to write "Tetris", "Pong" (with nbla000) and "Return to Fort Knox".

To my disappointment, I never managed to make a polished product out of it, so it remains an "internal tool". :(

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 11:01 am
by majikeyric
I use UltraEdit Studio, Acme and VICE.

If I need some small tools for data manipulation, I develop them in PureBasic.

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Posted: Sun Feb 15, 2015 2:55 pm
by srowe
I use Emacs, xa and a shell. I test with VICE before burning to EPROM using topwin6 in a WinXP VM under VirtualBox.