CBM prg Studio

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by ajordison »

Time to spread some Christmas cheer with a new version of CBM prg Studio.

New features in this version:
* General editing improvements (select to end, screen etc).
* Comment blocks.

Debugger now shows effective address of next instruction.

Assembler:
* Reporting of page boundary crossings for branching instructions.
* Choose character set for TEXT directive.

Download link in my sig below. Enjoy!
Try out CBM prg Studio over at www.ajordison.co.uk
allenhuffman
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 11:50 pm
Website: http://www.subethasoftware.com
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, US
Occupation: Embedded programmer.

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by allenhuffman »

I just discovered this IDE and have been checking it out. I would like to import some of my old VIC-20 BASIC programs (from tape images), but when I try File->Import->Basic File and point it to a .t64 I made, I get a xxxxx.bas tabe but the content is not my program. I see the "T64 import header information" comment block, then four numbered entries (are these my BASIC programs from the tape?).

Am I missing a step to get the BASIC program out of this?
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by ajordison »

Is it a multi-part tap file? CBM prg studio can't import those.
Try out CBM prg Studio over at www.ajordison.co.uk
allenhuffman
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 46
Joined: Fri May 21, 2010 11:50 pm
Website: http://www.subethasoftware.com
Location: Des Moines, Iowa, US
Occupation: Embedded programmer.

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by allenhuffman »

ajordison wrote:Is it a multi-part tap file? CBM prg studio can't import those.
I made .wav files of my VIC tapes. What would you recommend for me to get my files in to the IDE?
User avatar
pixel
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1330
Joined: Fri Feb 28, 2014 3:56 am
Website: http://hugbox.org/
Location: Berlin, Germany
Occupation: Pan–galactic shaman

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by pixel »

allenhuffman wrote:
ajordison wrote:Is it a multi-part tap file? CBM prg studio can't import those.
I made .wav files of my VIC tapes. What would you recommend for me to get my files in to the IDE?
As far as I could see http://wav-prg.sourceforge.net/audiotap.html is the best instant tool available for that kind of data archeology. There's also a list of alternatives.
A man without talent or ambition is most easily pleased. Others set his path and he is content.
https://github.com/SvenMichaelKlose
User avatar
vicist
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by vicist »

While tinkering with my old programs I realised that the changes I made were not being applied to auto.prg when using F5. Even clicking on the save project and save file icons and then using F5 to build to ram and run, resulted in the original file to be opened in the emulator.
I have checked the settings and all seems to be ok. Quitting and then reloading is the only way to get the changes to run in the emulator.

OS = windows 10 32bit
prg studio = v3.6.0
emulator = VICE 2.4
User avatar
vicist
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by vicist »

Please ignore previous post. :oops:

Although the symptoms as described above were correct, it must have been a glitch with my system.
I re-booted and now it all works as expected. :)
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by ajordison »

If you're having problems with F5 not building updated code, choose 'clean' from the 'build' menu to remove temporary files and force a rebuild. This is a bit flaky at the moment!
Try out CBM prg Studio over at www.ajordison.co.uk
User avatar
vicist
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by vicist »

OK.

Thanks for the 'heads-up'.
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by ajordison »

Here we go with version 3.7.0 of CBM prg Studio. Two big new features in this version are:

* SID Emulation. Finally, after years in development, you can listen to the sounds created with the tool!
* Support for abbreviate BASIC commands (pO for poke, ? for print etc.) plus tools to compress and uncompress source code. V2 Basic only for the moment.

A big thank you to everyone who helped with this version and for your continued support for this project.
Try out CBM prg Studio over at www.ajordison.co.uk
User avatar
Gorf
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
Location: United States
Occupation: Eccentric Musician

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by Gorf »

Hi, can someone please tell me how to get the control characters in this software? I want to type up a few programs, but the instructions on how to get the special characters are a little confusing. Thanks! :)
User avatar
vicist
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 352
Joined: Tue Oct 09, 2012 5:26 am
Location: Sheffield, UK

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by vicist »

You type them between curly braces like this:-

{BLACK} {WHITE} {RED} {CYAN} {PURPLE} {GREEN} {BLUE} {YELLOW} {UP} {DOWN}
{LEFT} {RIGHT} {UP} {DOWN} {REVERSE ON} {REVERSE OFF} {HOME} {CLEAR}
User avatar
Gorf
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
Location: United States
Occupation: Eccentric Musician

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by Gorf »

vicist wrote:You type them between curly braces like this:-

{BLACK} {WHITE} {RED} {CYAN} {PURPLE} {GREEN} {BLUE} {YELLOW} {UP} {DOWN}
{LEFT} {RIGHT} {UP} {DOWN} {REVERSE ON} {REVERSE OFF} {HOME} {CLEAR}
Thanks for your help! :D
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by ajordison »

Yes, thanks for the help! :wink: It's best to use the screen code builder tool (F4) first to get a feel for them.
Try out CBM prg Studio over at www.ajordison.co.uk
User avatar
Gorf
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue Feb 09, 2016 6:55 pm
Website: http://home.macintosh.garden/~europa/
Location: United States
Occupation: Eccentric Musician

Re: CBM prg Studio

Post by Gorf »

ajordison wrote:Yes, thanks for the help! :wink: It's best to use the screen code builder tool (F4) first to get a feel for them.

Thanks for the tip. :D



NOTE: I am really glad there is a community like this out there for VIC-20 users and I hope this forum continues to grow because I know it has been a huge help to me when I use my VIC. :)
Post Reply