Vic Wolf

Discussion, Reviews & High-scores

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Vic Wolf

Post by Kweepa »

Demo for unexpanded VIC (pal and NTSC), with source.

Image

http://www.kweepa.org/step/vic20/vicwolf.prg

Source here:
http://www.kweepa.org/step/vic20/vicwolf.zip

Developed with CBM Prg Studio. Thanks ajordison!
Last edited by Kweepa on Sun Apr 07, 2019 5:41 pm, edited 2 times in total.
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

Very cool! :)
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

Nice one, indeed! :)

Even "he" is there. :lol:

I see you make a correction for the slightly misplaced standard position in NTSC (to the right side and downwards) which is quite visible in VICE at least. Otherwise you could have omitted the PAL fixup code by using offsets from the ROM table, of course.

How about adding an entry for Software Releases in 2011?
User avatar
Jeff-20
Denial Founder
Posts: 5759
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm

Post by Jeff-20 »

This is really fun. I don't know why it's a demo and not a game :P . I know this is probably related to another game I haven't played (hey, they didn't make a vic version), but I like the idea of it being an original game. I was really blown away when I first saw Capture the Flag. I think the textured walls of this program are much more engaging, and of course, it moves a lot faster too.
High Scores, Links, and Jeff's Basic Games page.
User avatar
orion70
VICtalian
Posts: 4337
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Post by orion70 »

This should definitely become a game!
User avatar
tokra
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1120
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:32 pm
Location: Scheessel, Germany

Post by tokra »

Just WOW! :shock:
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

There's not a whole lot of room left for a game in the 3.5k :D
The memory map is basically:
0100-0180 free space
0200-0400 free space
1000-1600 code
1600-1800 textures
1800-1C00 level map
1C00-1E00 UDG
1E00-1E80 screen
1E80-1FFF free space
9400-9600 free space

I was considering making a random map using a similar technique to Whack, and storing it at 9400 (the map is currently 32x32 but I could cut it down to 22x22). That would free up 1k for an enemy and some game logic. Having an enemy on screen would probably halve the frame rate :( Some music and sound effects could go at 0200.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

Kweepa wrote:There's not a whole lot of room left for a game in the 3.5K :D
Image

:wink:
User avatar
tokra
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1120
Joined: Tue Apr 27, 2010 5:32 pm
Location: Scheessel, Germany

Post by tokra »

Hmm, but if you fully expand the VIC, it quickly becomes VIC DOOM again. Speaking of: VIC WOLF looks a lot faster than VIC DOOM. I suppose this is due to a smaller display area, no music or enemies and the engine being done in Assembler rather than C. Or are there other fundamental differences? Can (or will) the WOLF-engine be used in VIC DOOM as well?
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

tokra wrote:... if you fully expand the VIC ...
Maybe a +3K RAM expansion is sufficient, if code and data for a playable game cannot sensibly be packed into the unexpanded VIC-20.

With random level maps one loses the recognisability of maze locations. Somehow then it always looks the same, regardless where you are. I'd rather much prefer an explicitly stored map, maybe even level files and a corresponding editor.
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

tokra wrote:Hmm, but if you fully expand the VIC, it quickly becomes VIC DOOM again.
Indeed. I wanted something a bit simpler.
Speaking of: VIC WOLF looks a lot faster than VIC DOOM. I suppose this is due to a smaller display area, no music or enemies and the engine being done in Assembler rather than C. Or are there other fundamental differences?
Yeah, Wolf is about 8-10 FPS I think. Doom is 1-3.
The big differences are
- no enemies
- renderer is ray casting rather than portals
- fixed point maths, no divides required, and only four multiplies per column
- faster texture mapper (about 32 cycles per pixel versus 47)
- wall collision handling is trivial
The display area is exactly the same - 8x8 UDGs.
The music doesn't have a big impact on the speed.
Can (or will) the WOLF-engine be used in VIC DOOM as well?
I was considering changing Doom to use this renderer, but it would be a shame to lose the arbitrarily angled walls. I can definitely use the texture mapper.
Mike wrote:Maybe a +3K RAM expansion is sufficient...
No! Unexpanded all the way for this one.
With random level maps one loses the recognisability of maze locations.
True. Perhaps I could store some seeds that produce nice maps. Or use Astronell's technique to store a few interesting levels by overlapping graphics character shapes from the ROM.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

Kweepa wrote:No! Unexpanded all the way for this one.
You never know, anything can happen.
User avatar
orion70
VICtalian
Posts: 4337
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Post by orion70 »

Kweepa wrote:I was considering making a random map using a similar technique to Whack, and storing it at 9400 (the map is currently 32x32 but I could cut it down to 22x22). That would free up 1k for an enemy and some game logic. Having an enemy on screen would probably halve the frame rate :( Some music and sound effects could go at 0200.
And how about a 3D version of Whack, with turn-based actions upon encounters with monsters or objects? Enemies would be handled by a different routine, so movement/exploration would be just as smooth as in this demo :wink: .
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

Random maps (not yet coded in asm):
Image
Last edited by Kweepa on Fri Oct 07, 2022 10:53 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
GreyGhost
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:10 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Is there any way to compact or crunch the screens?
Rob
Post Reply