Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
Moderator: Moderators
- Diddl
- Vic 20 Afficionado
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am
- Website: https://oe7twj.at/
- Location: Austria
- Occupation: software engineer
- Diddl
- Vic 20 Afficionado
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am
- Website: https://oe7twj.at/
- Location: Austria
- Occupation: software engineer
Why autostart won't work?iccuwann wrote:Hi,
When I worked on the original $7000 rom, I completely disassembled it and replaced the fixed references with references which are relative to the .ORG value. This allows me to re-compile it with just about any start address.
Would you offer your disassembled source code so I can make a autostart version?
I'm sure you only have to add some initialization stuff at the beginning, if there is enough free space for this.
- Mike
- Herr VC
- Posts: 4987
- Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Occupation: electrical engineer
This program patches the non-autostarting $A000 version of PA to autostart after power-on or reset:
... well, it should have, but after some testing I found the F-Keys were broken. Seems I'll need a more thorough look into this ...
Code: Select all
[removed]
Last edited by Mike on Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
- Mike
- Herr VC
- Posts: 4987
- Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Occupation: electrical engineer
Here we go:
Code: Select all
10 SYS57809"PA-A000.PRG",8,1:POKE780,0:SYS65493
11 FORT=0TO136:READA:POKE40960+T,A:NEXT
12 SYS57809"PA-A000-AUTO.PRG",8,1:POKE193,0:POKE194,160
13 POKE780,193:POKE781,0:POKE782,176:SYS65496
14 :
15 DATA 9,160,68,160,65,48,195,194,205,32,141,253,32,82,253,32,249,253,32,24,229
16 DATA 88,32,91,228,32,164,227,32,4,228,32,128,171,160,119,185,144,170,145,55
17 DATA 136,16,248,169,62,141,143,2,169,170,141,144,2,32,1,163,169,0,141,202,2
18 DATA 162,251,154,76,116,196,44,17,145,32,52,247,32,225,255,240,3,76,86,255,32
19 DATA 82,253,32,249,253,32,24,229,169,0,141,202,2,169,62,141,143,2,169,170,141
20 DATA 144,2,108,2,192,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
- Diddl
- Vic 20 Afficionado
- Posts: 426
- Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am
- Website: https://oe7twj.at/
- Location: Austria
- Occupation: software engineer
@Mike, @iccuwann
Thank you very much, works fine for me. Very good job!!
Your changes run fine in Final Expansion section Progtools: click
sorry it is german, but pictures say mor than 1000 words.
Thank you very much, works fine for me. Very good job!!
Your changes run fine in Final Expansion section Progtools: click
sorry it is german, but pictures say mor than 1000 words.
Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
Sorry for the necro post, but thank you for this patched version. This helps me out alot.
One question though. Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
One question though. Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
- eslapion
- ultimate expander
- Posts: 5037
- Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
- Location: Canada
- Occupation: 8bit addict
Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
Sure. Except for the RAM, it uses the first half of BLK5, just like any other 4K cart game.cobracon wrote:One question though. Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
Although the Super Expander requires a memory expansion in order to be usable, it doesn't have to be 3K. It will work very well, with any other BASIC RAM area expansion, such as 8k, 16k and 24k.
Be normal.
Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
Well currently I do have a 16k ram pack in there. Now looks like I need to find someone to burn a few roms for me.
Thanks for the info!! This site is such a wealth of information and talent.
Thanks for the info!! This site is such a wealth of information and talent.
- Mike
- Herr VC
- Posts: 4987
- Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
- Location: Munich, Germany
- Occupation: electrical engineer
Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
If that +3K RAM expander is the one of CBM, that provides two places for (EP)ROMs. Actually, the Super Expander is just such a +3K RAM cartridge with an extra 4K ROM fitted, see here: Denial-WIKI: VIC-1211A inside.cobracon wrote:Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
A programmed 2732 can be used instead of the ROM, but you'll have to re-route some traces on the cartridge, see "Modding the 3K RAM or Super Expander cartridge". If you want to revert to a standard +3K RAM expansion without Super Expander (which reduces the available RAM slightly because of function key definitions stored at the end of BASIC RAM), just enter SYS64818 at the start-up screen.
- eslapion
- ultimate expander
- Posts: 5037
- Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
- Location: Canada
- Occupation: 8bit addict
Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5
Or you can use a programmed MCM68764 which can carry 8k and, along with SUper Expander, put a machine language monitor or special version of Programmer's Aid in the top 4k and you won't have to reroute any traces at all.Mike wrote:...cobracon wrote:Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
A programmed 2732 can be used instead of the ROM, but you'll have to re-route some traces on the cartridge, ...
Be normal.