What is the poke to turn a C128 to 2MHz in C64 mode?

Other Computers and Game Systems

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

What is the poke to turn a C128 to 2MHz in C64 mode?

Post by Boray »

/Anders
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

POKE 53296,PEEK(53296) OR 1 : REM $D030

However, since the other chips are not 2 MHz compliant, I think the screen will go blank and the I/O ports will not work until switching back to 1 MHz.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

Great! Thanks!

/Anders
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
Bacon
for breakfast
Posts: 578
Joined: Mon Apr 19, 2004 8:07 am

Post by Bacon »

carlsson wrote:However, since the other chips are not 2 MHz compliant, I think the screen will go blank and the I/O ports will not work until switching back to 1 MHz.
True, but if you're programming in assembly, you can set up raster interrupt routines that switches to 2MHz at when the raster beam reaches the bottom border, and back to 1MHz when it reaches the start of the screen. Should give you the equivalent of 1.5MHz or so.

Try out Elite 128 (a version of the classic game Elite modified to run on a 128 in 64 mode) to see the difference in speed when this technique is used. It can be switched between 1MHz and 2MHz in-game, so it's easy to see the effect on the vector graphics animation.
Bacon
-------------------------------------------------------
Das rubbernecken Sichtseeren keepen das cotton-pickenen Hands in die Pockets muss; relaxen und watschen die Blinkenlichten.
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

Yep. Of course it is useful, only that Boray should not expect to get twice the speed on everything in C64 mode.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

It didn't work in basic! It works in ML in 64 mode and in basic in 128 mode (and of course probably in ML in 128 mode), but the moment you do that poke in basic in 64 mode, then everything stops! Any idea why?

/Anders
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
idrougge
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 100
Joined: Wed Oct 06, 2004 8:57 am

Post by idrougge »

Bacon wrote:True, but if you're programming in assembly, you can set up raster interrupt routines that switches to 2MHz at when the raster beam reaches the bottom border, and back to 1MHz when it reaches the start of the screen. Should give you the equivalent of 1.5MHz or so.
Isn't that much like how the Plus/4 and C16 work?
C128, C128D, C64, C64C, ABC80, ABC800, ABC806, 130XE, ZX81, Spectrum 48k, Dragon 32, TI99/4A, Laser 200, Spectravideo 328, Sord M5, VIC20...
Post Reply