why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
funkheld
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:23 am

why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by funkheld »

hello good day.

why is in trse NOT , XOR ??

AND is & , Or is in the trse.

thanks
greeting.
Last edited by funkheld on Thu Dec 26, 2019 3:11 pm, edited 2 times in total.
funkheld
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:23 am

Re: why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by funkheld »

nobody knows how it works with the trse ????
why is in trse NOT , XOR ??


Thank you.
greeting
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4841
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by Mike »

funkheld wrote:why is in trse NOT , XOR ?? [...] AND is & , Or is in the trse. [...] nobody knows how it works with the trse ????
Several possible answers:

1. Us Denial fellows quite likely were celebrating Xmas, hence the (relative) silence over the last three days,
2. Number of TRSE users is still small to those who prefer to program the VIC-20 on itself or use more established cross-developing setups (DASM, cc65, ca65, ACME, etc.) and don't feel the need to change to TRSE. Or, for that matter, would go and install TRSE just to understand what your problem is.
3. As I already wrote in another thread: the maintainers/developers of TRSE are unlikely to stumble across your question here in Denial. Asking in the relevant FB group or on github is much more likely to get their view upon design decisions.

But anyhow ...
why is in trse NOT , XOR ??
... from what I've gathered, AND and OR are also present. Together with NOT, these three operators are most probably intended for use in Boolean expressions, within IF conditions. "|" (bitwise or) and "&" (bitwise and) are there for working with 8-bit values, XOR is the corresponding exclusive-or operator (don't know about "^" as I thought it ought to be in the other thread). You'll have to check for yourself, whether NOT doubles as bitwise NOT operand, or "!" is used instead.
funkheld
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:23 am

Re: why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by funkheld »

hello, thanks for the held.

how is that written in asm please : NOT , XOR ??

then I tinker it with asm

greeting.
User avatar
AndyH
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 364
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 5:51 am
Website: https://www.hewco.uk
Location: UK
Occupation: Developer

Re: why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by AndyH »

Hi, and Merry Christmas. (I've been mostly away for a few days).

You can do this, check out the ASM produced, it just does EOR:

Code: Select all

	addbreakpoint();
	
	// XOR
	x := %11110000;
	y := %11001100;

	k := x xor y;
	
	// logical NOT
	k := x xor 255;
--
AndyH
HEWCO | Vic 20 blog
funkheld
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 241
Joined: Tue Sep 10, 2019 4:23 am

Re: why is in TRSE : XOR , NOT

Post by funkheld »

hello thanks.

greeting.
Post Reply