Coco2

History and Preservation Issues

Moderator: Moderators

cyclone1203
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:24 pm

Coco2

Postby cyclone1203 » Tue Dec 19, 2017 12:26 pm

I bought my first vic 20 a couple weeks ago and in the box was a copy of Coco2 on disk, the manual, and the dongle. I don't really have a use for it and can't test it out since i have no drive. I was thinking about trading it but i have no idea what it is worth and there's not much info on the interwebs about it. Does anyone know if it has any value? Thanks for the help.

User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Coco2

Postby ral-clan » Tue Dec 19, 2017 7:42 pm

Isn't this some sort of application software, rather than a game (i.e. a spreadsheet or word processor)?
If so, there's not much demand for it from collectors, but it would be nice if it were archived and uploaded somewhere for preservation.
Image Music I've made with 1980s electronics, synths and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com

cyclone1203
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Dec 17, 2017 9:24 pm

Re: Coco2

Postby cyclone1203 » Tue Dec 19, 2017 8:25 pm

I found an disk image and tried it on vice, its a menu driven application to create games. So its more game related than application related.

User avatar
tonyrocks
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:17 pm
Website: http://www.tonyrocks.com
Location: Pittsburgh
Occupation: IBM Watson Engr

Re: Coco2

Postby tonyrocks » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:19 pm

oh man! it is a great "development" environment. I had that program with my Vic back in the early 80s. I remember making some "games" and demos and stuff. Pretty fun

User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3528
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Coco2

Postby ral-clan » Wed Dec 20, 2017 7:31 pm

Does a version exist that doesn't need the dongle?
Image Music I've made with 1980s electronics, synths and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com

eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 4541
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Re: Coco2

Postby eslapion » Wed Dec 20, 2017 8:21 pm

ral-clan wrote:Does a version exist that doesn't need the dongle?

I assume not. I remember seeing piles of unsold Coco2 boxes sitting in stores around 1985 when the VIC-20 was pretty much considered obsolete and the C64 ruled the market.

I remember the dongle and I assume cloning it's functions shouldn't be so difficult today.
No one can do everything. Everyone can do something.

User avatar
tonyrocks
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 99
Joined: Mon Jan 04, 2016 10:17 pm
Website: http://www.tonyrocks.com
Location: Pittsburgh
Occupation: IBM Watson Engr

Re: Coco2

Postby tonyrocks » Wed Dec 20, 2017 10:34 pm

There is an old thread about this here:

viewtopic.php?t=945&highlight=coco

16-bit address at $33-34 is set to point to $9111, or 37137 in decimal. By pulling joystick up, the program starts. You may have to pull a couple of times, since the loop keeps writing zero to that register - is it configured as both input and output at the same time?


Return to “Collecting and History”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest