VIC-REL Clone with Case

Vic 20 Item Exchange

Moderator: Moderators

Post Reply
User avatar
k3ys
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:34 pm

VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by k3ys »

Hello all,

I've been working on more hardware projects for my VIC. This time I've got a clone of the VIC-REL relay board. I've mounted it in a nice two panel laser cut acrylic case, and it has a label on top with the pinout for the terminals.

I've made six and am keeping one for myself. I'm asking $45 USD for it. I will ship internationally, PM me with your country and I can give you a total including shipping.

I'll be happy to answer any questions about it. See the pics below!

Cheers!

Sam

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by eslapion »

Interesting.

I have heard of VIC-REL a couple of times over the years; Is the software still available somewhere?

Nice name for a company... dorktronix.

I recently received items from a friend with a company named Fartronix.

There's also Boulderdash who sells under the brand name "Coprolith, computer by-products"
Be normal.
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by Boray »

How much power can those relays handle?
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
User avatar
k3ys
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by k3ys »

Nice name for a company...
Thanks! It's like Mastertronic, but on a dorkier level.
How much power can those relays handle?
The max ratings are 1 amp and 100 volts, but you'll probably want to keep it under that.
Is the software still available somewhere?
The "software" is just two POKEs really. Here's a quick example I whipped up.

Code: Select all

10 REM VIC-20 RELAY OUTPUT EXAMPLE
20 POKE 37138,63:REM SET UP THE INTERFACE
30 S=0:POKE 37136,S:REM TURN OFF ALL OUTPUTS
40 INPUT "WHICH OUTPUT (1-6)";PN$
50 PN=VAL(PN$):IF PN<1 OR PN>6 GOTO 40
60 INPUT "ON OR OFF";O$
70 IF O$="ON" THEN GOTO 100
80 IF O$="OFF" THEN GOTO 140
90 GOTO 40
100 REM TURN ON OUTPUT
110 S=S OR (2^(PN-1))
120 POKE 37136,S
130 GOTO 170
140 REM TURN OFF OUTPUT
150 S=S AND (255-(2^(PN-1)))
160 POKE 37136,S
170 REM PRINT OUTPUT STATE
180 PRINT"OUTPUT";PN;"IS ";O$;"."
190 GOTO 40
ken
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 95
Joined: Thu Mar 14, 2013 10:20 pm

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by ken »

nice looking project k3ys

oh and esalapion , read my tag for the proper spelling ;)
home of Coprolite Computer By-Products
User avatar
eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by eslapion »

That's DORKTRONIC... not dorktronix...
Be normal.
dragos
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 479
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2005 6:41 pm

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by dragos »

I bought one of these on ebay, it is very nicely done!
0110 0110 0110 The number of the beast...
User avatar
k3ys
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by k3ys »

dragos wrote:I bought one of these on ebay, it is very nicely done!
Thanks! They sold out pretty fast, just a couple of days. I went ahead and ordered another batch of PCBs and parts. I'll let you all know when they are ready.
User avatar
mrr19121970
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 873
Joined: Tue Jan 19, 2016 9:22 am
Location: Germany
Occupation: IT service manager

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by mrr19121970 »

Did you make more?
User avatar
k3ys
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 43
Joined: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: VIC-REL Clone with Case

Post by k3ys »

Oh.. I forgot I was going to post here. Yeah, I have the parts for more on hand. Interested?
Post Reply