The IF statement....

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Floopy
Vic 20 Devotee

The IF statement....

Post by Floopy »

Hello everybody, I'm new to this so if I make any mistakes tell me.

I'm somewhat new to CBM-Basic and the Vic-20, I own a C64 -though I prefer programing on my Vic-. I have started programming and I've figured out how memory can be manipulated to change characters, display, sound, joysticks, etc. When I made my first program it had a-lot of IF statements; on the Vic-20 ,that slows it down tremendously (Pac-Man usually never eats anything before I give up), I have to use if's: how does the Vic know the object ran off the screen, or when they collide. I'm wondering if their is a way to use something else? I have self-taught myself everything and the Programmer's reference guide is my best buddy. I noticed cartridge games are pretty fast is it because of machine language? Anyone have suggestions or am I doomed to never finish the level.

Anyway, I think it's nice to see forums like this one around the web, even though the Vic-20 had a short-but-sweet run. If you've gotten this far in reading this I'm amazed :D .
(Sorry for my English)
-Floopy
Bobbi
Vic 20 Afficionado

Re: The IF statement....

Post by Bobbi »

As you are discovering, BASIC is very slow for arcade style games. Most of the better ones are written in machine code.
Floopy
Vic 20 Devotee

Post by Floopy »

I think I'll have to dive into machine language some time, I'm a little confused on how it works, but I'll figure something out someday :?:
-Floopy
Bobbi
Vic 20 Afficionado

Post by Bobbi »

You can find lots of help here for VIC-20 specific stuff. 6502.org is pretty good for general machine code wisdom.

Back in the day I found the Machine Code Monitor (VICMON) cartridge very educational, but these days it is easier to code assembly on a PC using a cross-assembler like xa65 and to debug in the VICE monitor window.
Floopy
Vic 20 Devotee

Post by Floopy »