Change multipart game to load from disk rather than tape.

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Dr-D
Vic 20 Drifter

Change multipart game to load from disk rather than tape.

Post by Dr-D »

I hope I'm posting in the right area. After buying a disk drive (Commodore 1541) I have dragged my old VIC-20 out so that I can copy all my programs from tape to disk. The problem I've run into is that 5 of those programs are multipart and I have only been able to get one of those to load the second part from the disk drive since it had a simple load command and I just changed the device number to 8. However the other four are using POKE commands to load the second part and I don't know how to make it look for the second part on disk rather than tape. I think anyway as I'm not a programmer and haven't touched my VIC-20 in about 30 years. Below are the last two lines of the first part of the game Crazy Climber. All the preceding lines are Data statements so I hope you don't need all that.

90 POKE56,28:POKE52,28:FORI=7168TO7432:READD:POKEI,D:NEXT:PRINT"{CLR} "CHR$(34)"CRAZYCLIMBER"CHR$(34)
100 POKE631,19:POKE632,131:POKE198,2:NEW

Is there any change I can make in those line(s) that would make the program look for the second part of the game on disk rather than tape?

Thanks.
tokra
Vic 20 Scientist

Re: Change multipart game to load from disk rather than tape

Post by tokra »

Just add ",8" to the end of line 90 (with the quotes). This should work

What the two POKEs essentially do is send fill the keyboard buffer with keypresses which are completed once the program finishes.

In this case:

POKE 631,19 -> presses CLR/HOME (without Shift), so placing the cursor at the top left corner of the screen
POKE 632,131 -> presses RUN/STOP (with Shift), which in itself does "LOAD"+{Return} and "RUN"+{Return} which usually loads and runs from tape, but since you added a name and the ,8 in the first line it will now load from disk and run