What programming environments are you using?

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

groepaz
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by groepaz »

i dont even use the symbol features, although i know the vice monitor very well, and i am using ca65 and acme (which can spit out symbol files easily). an inc bordercolor here and there is all i need. singlestepping is so... meh =P
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
FD22
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:31 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by FD22 »

After many years as a DASM aficionado I have now switched to KickAssembler, which rather neatly generates VICE symbols automatically. I also finally invested a good chunk of time in getting my head around WUDSN and Eclipse, which has resulted in me switching fully from N++/DASM to WUDSN/Kick.

In the process I found a bug in WUDSN regarding writing the output file to a relative subfolder of the project (it doesn't realise where the output file has gone and halts with an error) but have not been able to find a contact email for the author to report it.

However, I did report a bug I also found in VICE - symbols for zero-page locations were not being referenced by the disassemble command. That has now been fixed in the nightly builds (from r28490 onwards).
User avatar
Jeff-20
Denial Founder
Posts: 5759
Joined: Wed Dec 31, 1969 6:00 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by Jeff-20 »

[quote="rhurst]
[youtube]QX9NkF0Tc9E[/youtube]

So if you ask me, you're all soft. :P[/quote]

Hahahahahahahaha


Sent from my iPhone 6 Beta using Tapatalk
High Scores, Links, and Jeff's Basic Games page.
Shaun.Bebbington
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 78
Joined: Fri Jan 20, 2006 3:41 am

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by Shaun.Bebbington »

I'm a big fan of CBM prg Studio, but use other tools such as Notepad++ and others.

Regards,

Shaun.
Without context, we are only data.
FD22
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:31 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by FD22 »

Might have found a bug in Kick. Reported it today.

Code: Select all

			.eval makecart = true												// Conditional assembly trigger - override for cartridge

			.import source "opcodes.asm"										// Undocumented opcode pseudocommands
			.import source "storage.asm"										// FAST-40 memory definitions
			.import source "memorymap.asm"										// VIC-20 memory definitions

			.if (makecart) {
				.pc = $a000														// Cartridge origin assembly point
				.text "A0"														// Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM)
				.byte $C3,$C2,$CD
				.word init40													// Cartridge cold start vector
				.word init40													// Cartridge warm start vector
			}
			else {
					.import source "basicstub.asm"									// BASIC stub macro
stub:			:BASICStub(8,"blah")	// BASIC stub definition
					.import source "relocate.asm"									// Relocation logic
			}
This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by Mike »

FD22 wrote:

Code: Select all

			.if (makecart) {
				.pc = $a000														// Cartridge origin assembly point
				.text "A0"														// Cartridge autostart signature (A0CBM)
				.byte $C3,$C2,$CD
				.word init40													// Cartridge cold start vector
				.word init40													// Cartridge warm start vector
			}
I know this is unrelated to your problem with KickAssembler, but I'd like to point out, that the autostart cartridge header first contains the two vectors for reset and NMI in $A000 .. $A003, and then follows the "A0CBM" signature.
FD22
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:31 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by FD22 »

Copypaste typo whilst extracting the code snippet. Wanted to demonstrate that other directives work OK inside the if-block, it's just '.import source' that has a problem.
groepaz
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1180
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by groepaz »

This is failing inside the 'else' block with an error about the first '.import' directive (which works fine outside the block) saying 'source' is invalid.
kickass sucks like that - including another source doesnt work inside a block. the suggested (imho very ugly) workaround looks like this:

Code: Select all

                
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "0" ? "default/scrolltext1.asm" : "empty.asm"
.import source cmdLineVars.get("tune") == "1" ? "default/scrolltext2.asm" : "empty.asm"
ie you must not use a block
I'm just a Software Guy who has no Idea how the Hardware works. Don't listen to me.
User avatar
Victragic
Frogger '07
Posts: 605
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2006 5:56 pm
Location: South Australia

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by Victragic »

'Way back when' I coded most of Frogger '07 on a real Vic using Hes Mon -- *

however, it was a stupid approach and I had to finish it using DASM and gVim as the editor. I've used CA65/CC65 too but find DASM 'good enough' for my purposes and feel comfortable with it.


*You're all soft..
3^4 is 81.0000001
nippur72
de Lagash
Posts: 574
Joined: Thu Sep 07, 2006 8:35 am

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by nippur72 »

Back in 2007, when I was an active VIC-20 developer, I wrote a custom language that was a mix between assembler and visual basic (or quick basic). It really made the difference for me, indeed it was very easy to write "Tetris", "Pong" (with nbla000) and "Return to Fort Knox".

To my disappointment, I never managed to make a polished product out of it, so it remains an "internal tool". :(
User avatar
majikeyric
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 349
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:08 pm
Website: http://majikeyric.free.fr
Location: France

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by majikeyric »

I use UltraEdit Studio, Acme and VICE.

If I need some small tools for data manipulation, I develop them in PureBasic.
User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1325
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: What programming environments are you using?

Post by srowe »

I use Emacs, xa and a shell. I test with VICE before burning to EPROM using topwin6 in a WinXP VM under VirtualBox.
Post Reply