WIP: FAST-40

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

FD22
Vic 20 Hobbyist

WIP: FAST-40

Post by FD22 »

Just a heads-up that I'm getting close to an Alpha release of FAST-40, something I've been working on for a couple of months as a derivative side-project of VIC++ and which has it's own sub-page here.

I only get to work on this for maybe 3-4 hours a week, so I'm not making any promises on dates for either an Alpha, Beta or final release - but I've hit a milestone today so I've posted a couple of screenies on the blog page.

Comments welcome.
rhurst
Omega Star Commander

Re: WIP: FAST-40

Post by rhurst »

Nice blog! Telengard anyone? :wink:
Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
https://robert.hurst-ri.us/rob/retrocomputing
Boray
Musical Smurf

Post by Boray »

Cool!
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
Mike
Herr VC

Post by Mike »

Nice!

I had a quick look over your blog about this side-project, some questions:

- You're using a dirty-row scheme, and a 'big' interrupt-routine to redraw invalid rows. The underlying KERNAL API is single character only, though. Don't you think it might be more sensible just to draw the glyph directly into the bitmap? You'd still keep a PETSCII representation in the text buffer, of course.

- Regarding that text buffer, are you planning to make it POKEable, so that POKEs into to are also reflected on the bitmap? That could quite easily be done by installing a BASIC extension, which checks for POKEs into that range, and then carries out the extra functionality.