Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Diddl
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am

Post by Diddl »

>This small program can be used to generate the $A000 version of PA
>from the $7000, and $B000 versions:

This small proggi is a wonderful/great idea!! Very clever ...
iccuwann
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:15 am

Post by iccuwann »

Looks like I don't need to bother posting my version.

Hope it's of use to some of you anyway.

Regards,
Darren
User avatar
eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Post by eslapion »

iccuwann wrote:If anyone still wants this $A009 version (non-autostart) then let me know.
I sure do!
Mike wrote:This small program can be used to generate the $A000 version of PA from the $7000, and $B000 versions:
:shock: :shock: :shock:

Who could ask for more!!!

Thanks!
Be normal.
Diddl
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am

Post by Diddl »

iccuwann wrote:Hi,
When I worked on the original $7000 rom, I completely disassembled it and replaced the fixed references with references which are relative to the .ORG value. This allows me to re-compile it with just about any start address.
Why autostart won't work?

Would you offer your disassembled source code so I can make a autostart version?

I'm sure you only have to add some initialization stuff at the beginning, if there is enough free space for this.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

@iccuwann: PM sent
iccuwann
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:15 am

Post by iccuwann »

@Mike

pm reply
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

This program patches the non-autostarting $A000 version of PA to autostart after power-on or reset:

Code: Select all

[removed]
... well, it should have, but after some testing I found the F-Keys were broken. :? Seems I'll need a more thorough look into this ...
Last edited by Mike on Fri Aug 21, 2009 3:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.
iccuwann
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 9
Joined: Sun Aug 09, 2009 7:15 am

Post by iccuwann »

@Mike

pm reply
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Post by Mike »

Here we go:

Code: Select all

10 SYS57809"PA-A000.PRG",8,1:POKE780,0:SYS65493
11 FORT=0TO136:READA:POKE40960+T,A:NEXT
12 SYS57809"PA-A000-AUTO.PRG",8,1:POKE193,0:POKE194,160
13 POKE780,193:POKE781,0:POKE782,176:SYS65496
14 :
15 DATA 9,160,68,160,65,48,195,194,205,32,141,253,32,82,253,32,249,253,32,24,229
16 DATA 88,32,91,228,32,164,227,32,4,228,32,128,171,160,119,185,144,170,145,55
17 DATA 136,16,248,169,62,141,143,2,169,170,141,144,2,32,1,163,169,0,141,202,2
18 DATA 162,251,154,76,116,196,44,17,145,32,52,247,32,225,255,240,3,76,86,255,32
19 DATA 82,253,32,249,253,32,24,229,169,0,141,202,2,169,62,141,143,2,169,170,141
20 DATA 144,2,108,2,192,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0,0
Diddl
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Wed Jun 10, 2009 3:18 am

Post by Diddl »

@Mike, @iccuwann

Thank you very much, works fine for me. Very good job!!


Your changes run fine in Final Expansion section Progtools: click

sorry it is german, but pictures say mor than 1000 words.
cobracon
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Post by cobracon »

Sorry for the necro post, but thank you for this patched version. This helps me out alot.

One question though. Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
User avatar
eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Post by eslapion »

cobracon wrote:One question though. Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
Sure. Except for the RAM, it uses the first half of BLK5, just like any other 4K cart game.

Although the Super Expander requires a memory expansion in order to be usable, it doesn't have to be 3K. It will work very well, with any other BASIC RAM area expansion, such as 8k, 16k and 24k.
Be normal.
cobracon
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 74
Joined: Thu Nov 11, 2010 5:46 pm

Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Post by cobracon »

Well currently I do have a 16k ram pack in there. Now looks like I need to find someone to burn a few roms for me.

Thanks for the info!! This site is such a wealth of information and talent.
User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 4816
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Post by Mike »

cobracon wrote:Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
If that +3K RAM expander is the one of CBM, that provides two places for (EP)ROMs. Actually, the Super Expander is just such a +3K RAM cartridge with an extra 4K ROM fitted, see here: Denial-WIKI: VIC-1211A inside.

A programmed 2732 can be used instead of the ROM, but you'll have to re-route some traces on the cartridge, see "Modding the 3K RAM or Super Expander cartridge". If you want to revert to a standard +3K RAM expansion without Super Expander (which reduces the available RAM slightly because of function key definitions stored at the end of BASIC RAM), just enter SYS64818 at the start-up screen.
User avatar
eslapion
ultimate expander
Posts: 5458
Joined: Fri Jun 23, 2006 7:50 pm
Location: Canada
Occupation: 8bit addict

Re: Programmer's Aid cart Block 5

Post by eslapion »

Mike wrote:
cobracon wrote:Can you put the SE rom on a normal cart if you already have a 3k expander?
...
A programmed 2732 can be used instead of the ROM, but you'll have to re-route some traces on the cartridge, ...
Or you can use a programmed MCM68764 which can carry 8k and, along with SUper Expander, put a machine language monitor or special version of Programmer's Aid in the top 4k and you won't have to reroute any traces at all.
Be normal.
Post Reply