Confession: I don't understand Trigonometry

Basic and Machine Language

Moderator: Moderators

Jeff-20
Denial Founder

Confession: I don't understand Trigonometry

Post by Jeff-20 »

I am a product of the desperately under-funded Chicago Public School system. We spent most of our school days dodging fights. As a result, I now find myself under-educated in Math.

I really wish I had the opportunity to study Trig, but by the time I made to a real school (college), I was already into art. I focused on my major area of study. Most of what I know about math is from programming the VIC. I am personally embarrassed to admit this. That knowledge is very limited.

Here are areas of VIC programming I have no knowledge of/access to:

SIN
TAN
COS

Trigonometric functions never were clear to me even from experimenting in programs. Even reading the definitions online does not help me apply the concepts to programming.

Let's say I wanted to make a ball move in a complete circle path around the screen. I'm not really sure, but I suspect I will need Trig to get the job done. No?
Mike
Herr VC

Re: Confession: I don't understand Trigonometry

Post by Mike »

Jeff-20 wrote:I'm not really sure, but I suspect I will need Trig to get the job done. No?
Yes. Probably the easiest way:

Code: Select all

10 POKE 36879,8:PRINT "{CLR}"
11 FOR D=0 TO 359 STEP 5  :REM angle in degrees (0 .. 360)
12 R=2*{PI}*(D/360)       :REM convert angle to radians (0 .. 2*pi)
13 X=INT(COS(R)*10+0.5)
14 Y=INT(SIN(R)*10+0.5)
15 A=7680+22*(11-Y)+(11+X):REM rotate counter-clock wise around the center
16 POKE A,81
17 FORT=1TO100:NEXT
18 POKE A,32
19 NEXT
20 GOTO 11
You can find another example here.

Greetings,

Michael
viznut
Robotic Liberation

Post by viznut »

I remember realizing how SIN and COS work several years before they came up at school. However, I didn't realize that PI equals 180 degrees, but I did make some rotating triangles and stuff :)
Mayhem
High Bidder

Post by Mayhem »