vice assembler monitor help

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

vicassembly
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:40 pm

vice assembler monitor help

Postby vicassembly » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:27 pm

I am attempting to use the vice monitor. I have compiled my ca65 code and have a '.lbl' file.

I see that in vice under the machine menu is a monitor. At this point I am not sure what to do. How do I point it to a lbl file? How do I step through the code and set breakpoints?

I found the following but it wasn't too helpful. http://vice-emu.sourceforge.net/vice_12.html

Any expertise would be appreciated.

groepaz
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby groepaz » Tue Jun 20, 2017 2:59 pm

uhm, what info are you missing there?

ll "foo.lbl" loads the labels

break <address> sets a breakpoint

vicassembly
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:40 pm

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby vicassembly » Tue Jun 20, 2017 5:15 pm

(C:$102a) ll “hires.lbl”
ERROR -- Expecting a filename:
ll “hires.lbl”
^

groepaz
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 553
Joined: Wed Aug 25, 2010 5:30 pm

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby groepaz » Wed Jun 21, 2017 5:45 am

funky - what version of VICE and what OS is that? (does the long form, ie load_labels, work instead?)

User avatar
beamrider
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 814
Joined: Sun Oct 17, 2010 2:28 pm
Location: UK

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby beamrider » Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:22 am

I usually start vice using a command line passing a symbol file that sets each label...

"xvic.exe" -moncommands prog.sym -memory 16k prog.prg

and my symbol files contains commands to add the labels generated by C65 eg...

[prog.sym]
al 00527A .bnegax
al 00536B .booleq
al 00537B .boolge
al 005379 .boolgt
al 005371 .boolle
al 005373 .boollt
al 005365 .boolne
al 00538B .booluge
al 005389 .boolugt
al 005381 .boolule
al 005383 .boolult

vicassembly
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 218
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 1:40 pm

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby vicassembly » Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:53 am

The latest version of VICE with a MAC.

Tonight I will try the command line method. Thanks!

FD22
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 148
Joined: Mon Feb 15, 2010 12:31 pm

Re: vice assembler monitor help

Postby FD22 » Thu Jun 22, 2017 1:00 pm

My toolchain is Sublime Text 3 -> KickAssembler -> XVIC, with a build command (for a cartridge) that looks like this:

Code: Select all

"cmd": ["java", "cml.kickass.KickAssembler", "main.asm" ,  "-log", "main.log", "-o", "main.bin", "-vicesymbols", "-showmem", "-bytedumpfile", "main.dmp", "-binfile", "-afo", "-symbolfile", "-execute", "XVIC -cartA \"main.bin\" -config xvic_emulator.cfg -monlog xvic_monitor.log -moncommands xvic_monitor.cfg"],

Thus, invoke KA and have it generate a full symbol list for VICE alongside the binary, then run VICE with that binary plus some predefined emulator configuration and a list of monitor commands that 'll' the symbol list and set breakpoints where-ever I've used a 'break(*)' macro in the source to output the appropriate 'b' command.

The ST3 build command does an autosave first, so I go from typing code to seeing it run in VICE about two seconds later just by hitting F7. 8)


Return to “Emulation and Cross Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest