JVic libGDX

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

lance.ewing
Vic 20 Afficionado

JVic libGDX

Post by lance.ewing »

Hi all,

After seeing the posts from a few months back about VIC 20 emulators on Android, I thought I'd have a crack at working on something. I've never built an app for Android, but I am a Java developer with about 18 years experience, and I do have an Android phone. And I still have the source code for the JVic emulator I wrote back in 2003. So I started wondering if I could hack the JVic code to make it work on Android (I lost the C code for V20 many years ago, and besides, I haven't touched a line of C code since 1998).

Although I haven't built any Android apps, I've been wanting to give it a try. So I've been doing some reading here and there and it wasn't long before I took notice of a cross platform game development library called libGDX. The idea is that you write your code once, in Java, building it against the libGDX libraries, and it will in theory build a version that will run on Android, desktop, HTML5, and iOS.

When I started thinking about an Android version of JVic, the libGDX library quickly came to mind. I started thinking "Converting JVic to use libGDX will not only produce an Android version but I'd get an HTML5 nearly for free (apparently there are a few gotchas) and I might be able to put that up on my web site as replacement for the applet that browsers have in general refused to run in recent years". Applets are deader than dead, so I need a new approach to make JVic run in a browser.

So on Wednesday, I started putting the plan in to action. It began by installing libGDX and its dependencies (the Android SDK, etc). I'm ignoring iOS for now but given that libGDX can generate an iOS app, that might come later when I've got it polished on the Android. On that first night, it was all about the environment setup. By the end of the evening, I had the project files all set up in the eclipse IDE.