Page 4 of 4

Re: VICE palette files with colors as seen on real machines

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:24 pm
by tokra
I have investigated the rasterline 0 anomaly a little further to see what happened if I expanded the screen by $9003 (36867). I noticed that if I expand the screen just to far enough rasterline 0 contents will in fact be a copy of the first rasterline in that final char-line. I let the pictures speak:
PAL:
IMG_0706.JPG
IMG_0707.JPG
NTSC:
IMG_0709.JPG

You can notice that in PAL there actually is a border-colored line above rasterline 0, while in NTSC there is not!

Continued in next post...

Re: VICE palette files with colors as seen on real machines

Posted: Sun Feb 21, 2016 5:28 pm
by tokra
I've amended my vert0test.prg to display those oddities as well, see at the bottom

Results of the new test for PAL:
IMG_0715.JPG
IMG_0716.JPG

and NTSC:
IMG_0717.JPG
IMG_0718.JPG


New vert0test:

Re: VICE palette files with colors as seen on real machines

Posted: Mon Feb 22, 2016 1:43 pm
by groepaz
thanks, added to the repo!

Re: VICE palette files with colors as seen on real machines

Posted: Tue Feb 23, 2016 1:04 am
by Aturnwald
Sorry for interrupt, but may be I can explain that 1 raster line at the top in PAL mode, but I'm not for sure, so correct me, if I'm wrong.

it has all to do with the sub-sequences that would be send by PAL, for e.g. you know, on old VCR's when look a movie you at the top of your screen, sometimes a black scrambled line ( it happens when the VCR's head isn't installed correctly ), on this line there would be send some informations about the screen, and the picture and movie-data ect. Also a lot of years ago in German, it was during the 80s a TV-station ( WDR ) sent over this line some files for the C64, ATARI, PC, AMIGA it was called "Public Domain" and with a special hardware you can get all these files, and every 24 h it changed and new files comes up. So, I used my VIC20 to send on this line files over the TV-Network in our home to another VC-20 ( it worked also on the C64, too ). I had a special electric module on the USER-PORT, with a small software and that's all. Also the guy, how installed this at my home, told me, that exactly this line would to all the stuff.

So, I think maybe that is, what you find out, but I'm not for sure, it's just a explain, also forgive me please for the interrupting.

cheers Toni