Software we use for transfer

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
gklinger
Vic 20 Elite
Posts: 2051
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:39 am

Postby gklinger » Thu Jan 08, 2009 11:34 pm

dano wrote:If I download a .prg file from the 'net, do I have to do anything special to transfer it to the uIEC?

Nope. Just copy it to the card and run it. The uIEC can use d64s and supports CMD-style partitions and all that but they're not mandatory.
In the end it will be as if nothing ever happened.

User avatar
PaulQ
undead vic
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 2:57 pm

Postby PaulQ » Fri Jan 09, 2009 7:20 am

In fact, what I discovered was particularly useful was the fact that I could run Star Commander under Windows Vista to open up some .tap files (which don't seem to be supported) to copy the .prg's over to the SD card. There's no timing issues, since I'm not actually using a 1541 but rather a file system native to DOS and Windows.

User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3514
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Postby ral-clan » Fri Jan 09, 2009 8:08 am

DigitalQuirk wrote:In fact, what I discovered was particularly useful was the fact that I could run Star Commander under Windows Vista to open up some .tap files (which don't seem to be supported) to copy the .prg's over to the SD card. There's no timing issues, since I'm not actually using a 1541 but rather a file system native to DOS and Windows.


Neat. Do you know of a way to run Star Commander under Windows XP?

User avatar
rhurst
Omega Star Commander
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:12 pm
Website: https://robert.hurst-ri.us
Location: Providence, RI
Occupation: Office of the CIO

Postby rhurst » Sun Feb 01, 2009 4:35 pm

I have one of those X?1541 adapters from Ebay stuck on the printer port. This hooks to a real 1541.


I have the "older" cable type from 2006, and it worked fine only using StarCommander under DOS. I just ordered that newer one, as mentioned, for less than $20 shipped -- which has a simple jumper to make it work with either the older starcommander / cbm4linux or the newer OpenCBM software.

I got OpenCBM to compile and load on my Fedora 10 x86 system -- I am not certain how it will react to x86_64. But, it integrates nicely with Linux as a kernel driver, and I am waiting to try it out with any of my floppy drives (1541, 1571, 1581). 8)

I left a post on SourceForge VICE regarding the use of 1581 mode on a Linux system. I was able to format & save from VICE to floppy using it in 1581 raw mode. However, that floppy won't directory / load on any real Commodore system with a real 1581 drive. Conversely, the same is true trying to read (or write) using an authentic 1581 floppy under VICE. Is this my unexpected use of the mode, or is this a flaw in my operation? :?

User avatar
rhurst
Omega Star Commander
Posts: 1302
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:12 pm
Website: https://robert.hurst-ri.us
Location: Providence, RI
Occupation: Office of the CIO

Postby rhurst » Wed Feb 04, 2009 6:57 pm

Just got my Commodore XE1541 + XM1541 Adapter PC and hooked it up using Red Hat Fedora 10 and OpenCBM. The verdict ... works great!! I can read/write to my 1581 drive (and no doubt it will work with my 1541 & 1571 drives, too). I will need to write about these nice & pleasant experiences more on my blog.

Still no reply about using real 1581 disks under VICE emulation, but at least I now have a viable solution to copy work off my (modern) PC and back to a native CBM media.

WOOT!!! 8) 8) 8)

User avatar
PaulQ
undead vic
Posts: 1967
Joined: Sun Jan 14, 2007 2:57 pm

Postby PaulQ » Wed Feb 04, 2009 7:50 pm

ral-clan wrote:
DigitalQuirk wrote:In fact, what I discovered was particularly useful was the fact that I could run Star Commander under Windows Vista to open up some .tap files (which don't seem to be supported) to copy the .prg's over to the SD card. There's no timing issues, since I'm not actually using a 1541 but rather a file system native to DOS and Windows.


Neat. Do you know of a way to run Star Commander under Windows XP?


I run it as a DOS application; it should run fine, albeit without the 1541 drive connection.

User avatar
fsporsche
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 85
Joined: Mon May 11, 2009 1:25 pm

uIEC

Postby fsporsche » Mon May 11, 2009 2:49 pm

Are these available for sale?
Where can I get one?


Thanks
Fred

User avatar
gklinger
Vic 20 Elite
Posts: 2051
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:39 am

Re: uIEC

Postby gklinger » Mon May 11, 2009 3:05 pm

fsporsche wrote:Are these available for sale?

By "these" do you mean a uIEC? If so, then yes. If not, please clarify.

Where can I get one?

Assuming you do mean the uIEC, see here.
In the end it will be as if nothing ever happened.


Return to “Emulation and Cross Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest