CBM prg Studio

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

OK thanks, just PM me the code unless you want everyone to see it!
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

v.1.0 just downloaded :wink:
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

Don't push this version too hard (OK maybe a bit harder than your last test :wink: ) as I'll be releasing a bug fix this weekend.
User avatar
nbla000
Salmon Run
Posts: 2582
Joined: Thu Oct 13, 2005 8:58 am
Location: Italy

Post by nbla000 »

ajordison wrote:Don't push this version too hard (OK maybe a bit harder than your last test :wink: )
LOL :lol:
as I'll be releasing a bug fix this weekend.

OK, then I will wait it :wink:
Mega-Cart: the cartridge you plug in once and for all.
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

Here is a new version (V 1.1.0) of CBM prg Studio. What's been done? Well quite a lot of bugs have been sorted out. A huge thanks to everyone involved in finding them and suggesting new features. Speaking of which, some of the new features include:

* More control over the generated BASIC loader code.
* BASIC programs saved in a t64 format can now be imported.
* The assembler now produces more detailed output.
* Code reformatting has been added for assembly programs.
* Added options to the reformat BASIC code tool to 'compress' a source file by removing unnecessary spaces (between keywords, line numbers etc) and also removing REM statements.
* Some memory viewer improvements, notably being able to select a memory range with the mouse and then use a context menu to perform some memory actions, e.g. save, disassemble etc.

It can be downloaded from www.ajordison.co.uk

IMPORTANT! Please remove any previous installations of CBM prg Studio before installing this version!

Quick question. The next major new feature I'd like to add is a 6510 debugger which will let you run through code, inspect memory/registers etc. Do you think this is worth doing or do people just use the one in VICE or some other tool? I'll probably do it anyway as it's a good programming exercise but it would be more encouraging if there's some demand for it.
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

Sounds awesome.
I'd love to have a debugger built in. Would make it much more like Visual Studio. Plus you could add features that aren't in VICE like step backward (undo), visual breakpoints, edit and continue, run to cursor, set next statement...
User avatar
GreyGhost
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:10 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

I've been using your development tool a lot these past few days. I must say its coming along very nicely. I have a couple of suggestions for you to think about.

When you mouse over a number, you get a tooltip window with that number translated to other base values(oct,hex ect...). I think it would be very helpful if it also showed the ascii character also. Say you mouse over $93, it would also show "{clr home}" or $35 and the tooltip says "5". I think it would be very helpful. Not really sure how you would handle graphic characters.

Also, maybe a floating window or something that shows jump and branch labels to reference. Maybe with tabs so you can also see the constants that have been defined.

Keep up the great work.

Later,
Rob
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

Hi Rob,
Thanks for the suggestions, they're going into the next release.
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

Here's a new version (V 1.2.0) of CBM prg Studio. Thanks again to everyone involved in finding bugs and suggesting new features, which include:

* Prototype 6510 debugger,
* Label/Variable Panel,
* Word wrap at column indicator,
* More detail in the assembly window tooltip.

See the help file for a list of bug fixes.

Obviously the main new feature is the 6510 debugger. It's a standalone application at the moment but it will be fully integrated into CBM prg Studio, probably for the next release unless too many major bugs are found. Please report any bugs or feature suggestions.

It can be downloaded from www.ajordison.co.uk

IMPORTANT! Please remove any previous installations of CBM prg Studio before installing this version!
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

Holey moley!
Looking forward to trying this out!
rhurst
Omega Star Commander
Posts: 1371
Joined: Thu Jan 31, 2008 2:12 pm
Website: https://robert.hurst-ri.us
Location: Providence, RI
Occupation: Tech & Innovation

Post by rhurst »

Well done, and with your permission, I'd like to mirror the latest version on my site too. 8)

I'd like to see an option for this assembler to output a symbol map file for loading into the VICE debugger.
Any technology distinguishable from magic is insufficiently advanced.
https://robert.hurst-ri.us/rob/retrocomputing
ajordison
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 179
Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2010 4:31 pm
Website: http://www.ajordison.co.uk/
Location: Hartlepool, UK
Occupation: Software Engineer

Post by ajordison »

Thanks for the mirror, I'll add a link to my website soon.

That's a great idea for the screen code builder, it seems like an obvious thing but you're the first person to suggest it, which probably means you're the first person to use it. :(
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

I've been playing with this for a bit for some assembly.

if you have a label 8 wide, (auto) reformatting joins the label and the adjoining code.
are there anonymous labels? eg ACME's +, ++, -, -- etc?
are there macros?
is there a way to import binary and convert it into source code?
also, I wrote this code:
ror acc+1
and it highlighted acc as if it's a keyword, but it assembled ok without me having defined the label.
User avatar
GreyGhost
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 525
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2005 11:10 pm

Post by GreyGhost »

Kweepa wrote:also, I wrote this code:
ror acc+1
and it highlighted acc as if it's a keyword, but it assembled ok without me having defined the label.

Not as a keyword, highlights as a hex number. :wink:
Maybe a check for the dollar sign is in order.
Rob
User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1314
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Post by Kweepa »

:shock: Of course!
Post Reply