Help improving the VIC20 palette in vice!

You need an actual VIC.

Moderator: Moderators

tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Help improving the VIC20 palette in vice!

Post by tlr »

From the discussion in these threads: 1, 2.

It would be useful if some of you had the possibility of posting screen-captures (screen grabber is prefered) of the program below.
Please change the PRINT in the first line to identify your machine. VIC20/VIC20CR/PAL/NTSC (and VIC chip information if possible)

I've made a small test program here: palette_bas.prg

As type-in:

Code: Select all

 10 PRINT"{clr}{grn}<INSERT DESCRIPTION>"
 20 A=828
 30 READB:IFB<0THENSYS828
 40 POKEA,B:A=A+1:GOTO30
100 DATA 120,162,17,169,11,172,1,144,200,200,200,200,200,204
110 DATA 4,144,208,251,141,15,144,105,15,202,208,238,240,229
120 DATA -1
It is especially interesting to see if there is a difference between the VIC20 and VIC20CR. For PAL I believe those use the 6561E and 6561-101 respectively.

This is what it looks like in vice:
Image
User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3702
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Post by ral-clan »

I wonder if those of us that have tweaked the internal pots around the VIC chip will be disqualified from this...as those tweaks would provide "non-standard" colour level outputs and skew the results of the poll.
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

ral-clan wrote:I wonder if those of us that have tweaked the internal pots around the VIC chip will be disqualified from this...as those tweaks would provide "non-standard" colour level outputs and skew the results of the poll.
I think it will still be useful. Tweaking shouldn't affect the chroma, right?
Also the relative luma levels of the colors should be preserved.
It worth mentioning that you tweaked it though.
User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3702
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Post by ral-clan »

It's been a couple of years since I tweaked my VIC for ideal output to a 1701 monitor, but I think that there were two pots - one for luminance and one for chroma. Someone else will have to confirm.
User avatar
orion70
VICtalian
Posts: 4341
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Post by orion70 »

gklinger
Vic 20 Elite
Posts: 2051
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:39 am

Post by gklinger »

Would it help to have a screenshot of the X11 version of VICE running on a Mac or is this one of those WinVICE-only things?
In the end it will be as if nothing ever happened.
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

Interesting! Confirms that chroma is not affected.
The color test program posted in the second thread will not show all 16 colors simultaneously.
gklinger wrote:Would it help to have a screenshot of the X11 version of VICE running on a Mac or is this one of those WinVICE-only things?
This is one of those real-vic20-only things...
Emulation looks like above on all platforms, what does it look like on real vics?
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

Every monitor connected to a vic-20 has it's own color nuance. Every PC monitor has it's own color nuance. Every person have set their vic and pc monitors to their own liking with their own choice of brighness and colors. Every digital camera taking a picture of a vic display has it's own color nuance, or many depending on the settings and lights. Every vic chip has it's own nuance. Good luck! ;)
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

Boray wrote:Every monitor connected to a vic-20 has it's own color nuance. Every PC monitor has it's own color nuance. Every person have set their vic and pc monitors to their own liking with their own choice of brighness and colors. Every digital camera taking a picture of a vic display has it's own color nuance, or many depending on the settings and lights. Every vic chip has it's own nuance. Good luck! ;)
Setting brightness and contrast yes, but usually not color.
On NTSC monitors color can usually be shifted using a tint control though.
These controls are emulated in vice.

What is needed as input is the relative hues and luminances.
Those are hard coded into the chip but subject to process variations.
In the VIC-II used in the c64 the chrominance is very stable due to a clever design.
The relative luminances are quite stable too.
I'm not sure the VIC-I is as stable, but it's resonable to assume the design is somewhat similar.

See here for some info on how it works in the VIC-II: http://www.pepto.de/projects/colorvic/
gklinger
Vic 20 Elite
Posts: 2051
Joined: Tue Oct 03, 2006 1:39 am

Post by gklinger »

tlr wrote:This is one of those real-vic20-only things...
I completely misunderstood what it was you were asking. :oops:
In the end it will be as if nothing ever happened.
User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3702
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Post by ral-clan »

Boray wrote:Every monitor connected to a vic-20 has it's own color nuance. Every PC monitor has it's own color nuance. Every person have set their vic and pc monitors to their own liking with their own choice of brighness and colors. Every digital camera taking a picture of a vic display has it's own color nuance, or many depending on the settings and lights. Every vic chip has it's own nuance. Good luck! ;)
I think TLR is asking people to frame-grab the output of his/her VIC-20 with a device (like a PCI TV card or DVD recorder or camcorder) that can accept the RCA video output of the VIC-20 directly. Then e-mail that frame-grab to him. I don't think he's suggesting we take a digital camera picture of the monitor.
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4064
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Post by Boray »

ral-clan wrote: I think TLR is asking people to frame-grab the output of his/her VIC-20 with a device (like a PCI TV card or DVD recorder or camcorder) that can accept the RCA video output of the VIC-20 directly. Then e-mail that frame-grab to him. I don't think he's suggesting we take a digital camera picture of the monitor.
All A/D converters has their own flavour too ;)
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

ral-clan wrote:I think TLR is asking people to frame-grab the output of his/her VIC-20 with a device (like a PCI TV card or DVD recorder or camcorder) that can accept the RCA video output of the VIC-20 directly. Then e-mail that frame-grab to him. I don't think he's suggesting we take a digital camera picture of the monitor.
Exactly! :)
Obviously I wasn't clear enough in the initial post, sorry.

If possible I suggest you post the result in this thread, so others can benefit from the data too.
carlsson
Class of '6502
Posts: 5516
Joined: Wed Mar 10, 2004 1:41 am

Post by carlsson »

Unfortunately neither of my computers is equipped for video recording, although I've considered for years to pick up some cheap, perhaps second hand expansion card. Thus I can't contribute at the moment, unless there is a magical way to transform a secondary VGA output to an input device? :-P Something similar to using a headphone speaker as a el-cheapo microphone.
Anders Carlsson

Image Image Image Image Image
tlr
Vic 20 Nerd
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 10:53 am

Post by tlr »

I've made a new program, more suitable for ocular comparison.
It displays all 16 colors sorted according to expected luminance. As you can see some luminances are nearly the same.
Run this on your vic20, turn down the color knob to minimum (i.e bw), and compare to the bw screen shot below.

I can confirm that the luminances on my VIC20 (two-prong, 6561E 4881) are nearly identical to the ones below.

Test program here: palette2_bas.prg

As type-in:

Code: Select all

 10 PRINT"{clr}{grn}<INSERT DESCRIPTION>"
 20 A=828
 30 READB:IFB<0THENSYS828
 40 POKEA,B:A=A+1:GOTO30
100 DATA 120,162,17,169,11,172,1,144,200,200,200,200,200,204
110 DATA 4,144,208,251,141,15,144,189,87,3,202,208,237,240
120 DATA 228,11,107,43,75,139,235,91,171,59,203,155,123,219
130 DATA 187,251,27
140 DATA -1
For the curious: the colors displayed are (top to bottom): 1, 15, 11, 13, 7, 9, 12, 3, 10, 5, 14, 8, 4, 2, 6, 0

This is what it looks like in vice with saturation 0.0:
Image

This is what it looks like in vice with saturation 1.0 (normal setting):
Image
Post Reply