An absolute fool and his dead Vic

Modding and Technical Issues

Moderator: Moderators

SwissArmyTin
Vic 20 Newbie

An absolute fool and his dead Vic

Post by SwissArmyTin »

I'll start off by saying: I am not an expert on electronics. I'm familiar with the absolute bare-bones basics, and that's about it, so forgive my ineptitude.

I have an early model NTSC Vic-20 that's never worked and has definitely seen better days. I've had it for several years now; didn't pay much for it. Aesthetically, it looks fine. Open it up, though...yikes.

The original 4700uf capacitor seemed to have exploded on one side, leaving a nasty trail of electrolytic fluid on the board. The trace underneath and around the capacitor look absolutely screwed. I ended up replacing the capacitor with an identical one, cleaned the board, reflowed several broken solder joints, and it still didn't work. Turn it on, power led lights up, black screen; same as before. I gave up at the time 'cause I didn't (and still don't) know what to do.

Since I'm soul-crushingly broke, I can't just simply buy a working Vic, so I'm stuck with this one.
From my view, it would be an act of God to get this thing working again, but I'm determined to have at least one working Commodore machine, so pretty much any and all help would be immensely appreciated.

Here's an album of the naked board: http://imgur.com/a/emEyM Currently have it thoroughly disassembled for cleaning, thought it was a good chance to get some decent pics of the damage. All the missing ICs and metal shields are off-screen
mrr19121970
Vic 20 Nerd

Re: An absolute fool and his dead Vic

Post by mrr19121970 »

I think you need 1 working machine to test the ICs in your non working machine. The most expensive IC will be your VIC-I to replace this for NOS or even a used version you can pick up another machine.