Where To Get FE3,C64SD, etc?

Modding and Technical Issues

Moderator: Moderators

Startropic1
Vic 20 Drifter

Where To Get FE3,C64SD, etc?

Post by Startropic1 »

I finally got a Vic20 off ebay--I had one as a kid, and finally found another, in near pristean condition no less (or as pristean as an almost 30-yr old computer can be :wink: )

I've been reading about these new devices with large quantities of games on them and more interestlingly things like the FE3 & C64SD which allow you to read data off an SD card on your Vic20. From what I can tell, the FE3 "homepage" is kaput and the "shop" is closed. It links to an online shop page written in german that supposedly now sells the FE3, but I can't make heads nor tales of it. I found a site pertaining to the C64SD, but again not much luck with how to obtain one.

I would prefer a device already assembled, but I have plenty of experience with electronics and I'm perfectly capable of assembling one from a kit if need be.

On a side note, there were two games in particular that were my favourites as a kid: Gorf and Hardhat Climber. Gorf is easily obtainable in its original cart form, (infact I've already procured it.) Hardhat Climber, however seems nearly impossible to locate in some authentic form. I haven't even seen it listed on any of the mega collection type cartridges some people have made. When I was a kid I had the game on a data cassette, but it didn't appear to be any official type of tape, just a tape someone copied the game onto. So what was Hardhat Climber originally released on? Cart, cassette, disc, etc?

Any help with this stuff would be greatly appreciated. I saw the megacart but despite its boasted features I felt $99USD is way too steap an asking price. There was a similar cart I saw somewhere that was only fetching $30.
Gorf FTW
rhurst
Omega Star Commander

Post by rhurst »