Work in Progress - Captain on the Bridge

Discussion, Reviews & High-scores

Moderator: Moderators

Andid
Vic 20 Newbie

Work in Progress - Captain on the Bridge

Post by Andid »

Hi everyone,

I am quite new to the entire retrocomputing thing (got inspired recently by game development games such as Game Dev Tycoon, GamersGoMakers and GameBiz 3, as well as tons of YouTube videos) and figured I try my hand at some game development.

Here is a first proof of concept of my idea of a space adventure game, playable until partway through Act I. Needs a Vic-20 with 16k of ram minimum (edit: 24k recommended), no joystick, just load and run the basic program on the d64 file. (Use the <-- key to return to the main command menu level, F8 to quit.) Please let me know what you think.

And you can use this at the end
COTB-Sectormap.gif
COTB-Sectormap.gif (6.92 KiB) Viewed 6441 times
ToDo:
  • Write disk and file management engine to load text on-demand from disk
  • Write corresponding story file editor
  • Implement continue function ("Command Code" does not do anything at the moment.)
  • Create and integrate graphics (planets, ships etc.)
  • More/better sounds
  • Write and finish the whole story
  • Maybe replace some parts with machine language implementations
The development took place entirely in VICE with the internal BASIC. The basic game concept document as well as the table above were written with HESWriter within VICE (yes, full immersion on my end), stored on (virtual) tape and printed from there. I am going to switch to (virtual) disks now, however, as I'll probably use random access files for the disk / text management engine, and to Wordcraft since I now have the manual for it thanks to a helpful chap on this site.

Some background: