Page 4 of 6

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 7:49 am
by ral-clan
This is a well done collection. The text display is well implemented.

I am wondering, however, how the save game feature works. Can one specify a file name? While playing Strange Odyssey, I am only to save the game once. Subsequent saves result in a disk error (flashing light).

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:44 pm
by Kweepa
Oh, that's still happening?
I haven't tested on real hardware... I tried with true drive emulation on vice.
I have no idea how to fix it.
I'm just using code from codebase64 to open and write a file.
Anyone got any ideas?

You can't specify a file name. It just writes to a fixed file name (save.bin).
I could have you supply a file name, but then I'd have to worry about the disk running out of space, disk swapping, and so on...

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 12:53 pm
by Mike
After taking a look at the source I found the culprit, supposedly. :)

In 'loadsave.c':

Code: Select all

static void __fastcall__ deletesave(void)
{
   // OPEN15,8,15,"S:savegame":CLOSE15
   setlfs(15, 8, 15);
   setnam("S:save.bin"); // scratch
   __asm__("jsr $ffc0"); // OPEN
   __asm__("lda #15");
   __asm__("jsr $ffc3"); // CLOSE
}
... this should be 's:save.bin' with lower-case s, as the upper-case S is translated to SHIFT-S in PETSCII, which won't be recognized by CBM DOS.

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 3:19 pm
by Kweepa
Thanks!
I guess I've got a couple of games to fix! (This is from Cometfall...)

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 6:08 pm
by Jeff-20
I haven't had a chance to try this yet. Do games in the Questprobe series require images as a part of play? I vaguely recall C64 screenshots.

Posted: Fri Oct 18, 2013 10:23 pm
by Kweepa
I'm pretty sure you can play them without the images... let's hope so!

On another note, the latest versions of Yoho.d64 and Howay.d64 have the save game fix Mike suggested.

Posted: Sat Oct 19, 2013 4:04 am
by darkatx
Jeff-20 wrote:I haven't had a chance to try this yet. Do games in the Questprobe series require images as a part of play? I vaguely recall C64 screenshots.
I played the Spider-man game a lot and yeah it was graphic heavy...but I think that the graphics were added after the fact. Looking at the C-64 hungarian site there are a few different versions - one just text. Plus there's a Fantastic Four version as well? :shock:

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 4:47 pm
by Ghislain
I just wanted to report the following:

-if you 'get' an object, the object still appears in the top part of the screen where the room description and visible items are listed.

-in The Hulk, the game is unplayable and as soon as you 'lean forward' (to bang your head and turn into the HUlk), you can't do anything else after wards and it says "You've lost control.... Hulk rampages off!" and you wind up in the fuzzy area (the original game does not do this right off from the start).

Posted: Fri Nov 01, 2013 10:11 pm
by Kweepa
Thanks for the report.
I'll try to find some time to look at these.

Posted: Sat Nov 02, 2013 1:29 pm
by Kweepa
Hi Ghislain,

I fixed the problems with the Hulk. You can now see objects, and the gas now turns you back into Bruce Banner.

For the 'get' problem, which game did you see that in? I tried a few and it seemed to work (the display at the top changed).

D64s in the usual place.

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 8:13 am
by Ghislain
Kweepa wrote:Hi Ghislain,

I fixed the problems with the Hulk. You can now see objects, and the gas now turns you back into Bruce Banner.

For the 'get' problem, which game did you see that in? I tried a few and it seemed to work (the display at the top changed).

D64s in the usual place.
The 'get' problem actually occurs in The Count when you first start the game and then 'get sheets'.

I guess this issue may or may not be unique to this specific circumstance. Considering that The Count is my favorite Scott Adams game, I noticed this right away because is the first step you have to take in order to solve it.

Posted: Sun Nov 03, 2013 12:00 pm
by Kweepa
Thanks.
Very interesting. It seems that a lot of objects have specific 'get' handlers in the Count. They don't do anything except print "Ok", so I'm not sure why they are in there.
I'll make sure that get and drop update the status.

[EDIT] Fixed. I was hashing the visible objects, but the hash function wasn't very good it seems. Better now. New versions in usual place.

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 5:54 pm
by Ghislain
Kweepa wrote:Thanks.
Very interesting. It seems that a lot of objects have specific 'get' handlers in the Count. They don't do anything except print "Ok", so I'm not sure why they are in there.
I'll make sure that get and drop update the status.

[EDIT] Fixed. I was hashing the visible objects, but the hash function wasn't very good it seems. Better now. New versions in usual place.
Thanks, I can see the correction now. I thank you for doing this project.

I know that I'm going to sound like a pain, but I found another issue -- the part of The Count where you make it to the pit and you tie the sheets TO RING and climb the sheets down, you enter a room that's "TOO DARK TO SEE!"

At this point, the player lights the match, and the contents of the room are revealed briefly for a couple of seconds only to go back to "TOO DARK TO SEE!".

Posted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 6:47 pm
by metalfoot76
That sounds like a nice bit of realism to me!

Posted: Mon Nov 11, 2013 7:53 pm
by Kweepa
Ghislain,
It's not a pain! I'm glad to see someone is playing the games!
I'll look into it... it's probably another really dumb bug.