Page 3 of 6

Posted: Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:16 pm
by Kweepa
Fixed a couple of other bugs:
- failed get in an action now stops the action
- exchanging counters now works - fixes Sorcerer of Claymorgue Castle immediately killing you, and probably all sorts of other problems

I think this is in good shape now.
I will try an initial release.

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:25 am
by Boray
I get a blue thing on the intro screen, blinking like a cursor:

Image

Past the intro screen, it's not there any more.

Other than that, I think the text looks amazing on my Vic. The text looks slightly tilted like you are using some interlace technique or something. I think it has to do with the graininess of the CR models.

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:32 am
by Boray
You get the exact same thing in VICE if you load the program, then press CLR-HOME then go 4 characters down. Then RUN.

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:46 am
by Kweepa
Hey yeah, those characters DO look italic! Sweet!

Hmm, I guess that IS the cursor, because I'm using cgetc() there.
I'll have to avoid functions that display a cursor.

Also found a couple of bugs with consecutive spaces, one in input and one in output :) At least I'm consistent I guess...
Typing "get gold" in The Golden Voyage, you pick up the palace guards!

Posted: Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:44 pm
by Kweepa
Fixed some bugs:
- stack overflow corrupting the right hand side of the screen
- flashing cursor corruption
- death action now stops other default action lines
New versions uploaded.

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:27 pm
by malcontent
I can force the stack overflow bug (at least in pirate adventure) by just entering an unrecognized command over and over for a minute or so.

Also you should allow the short hand directions "n,w,e,w".

Posted: Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:03 pm
by Kweepa
Thanks for the bug report!
I fixed that for sure this time. I had declared a function without __fastcall__ so it would clean up the stack incorrectly.
I also added the command abbreviations n, s, e, w, u, d, i.
New versions in the usual place.

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:24 am
by malcontent
Pirate Adventure bugs when you pick up the parrot but have dropped the crackers somewhere else.

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:26 am
by Kweepa
Yay! Thanks, I'll take a look.

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:02 pm
by malcontent
I found one more, when the warning is given about your torch about to run out of light, if you "unlight torch" the area you are in will turn dark (even if it wasn't before). Again, I'm playing through pirate adventure.

Posted: Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:33 pm
by Kweepa
Fixed the parrot issue. Any move obj to obj command (in an action line) corrupted the action stream. Oops.
New version in usual place.

Will look at the torch!
[EDIT] Fixed light code. Now uses flag[15] everywhere.

Posted: Sun Oct 06, 2013 12:03 pm
by Kweepa
Fixed a collection of get and drop bugs (for example you could type 'GET' in Voodoo Castle next to the sapphire door, and pick it up!).
Fixed conflation of light and counter (lots of problems with Impossible Mission fixed).
New versions in the usual place.
[EDIT] Now with ability to type in digits. Useful (!) for Voodoo Castle.

Posted: Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:18 pm
by Kweepa
A bit more cleanup.
Played a couple of games start to finish (Voodoo Castle, The Golden Baton).
I think this is done now!
Thanks for the testing, folks!

Source is available here:
http://www.kweepa.com/step/vic20/YohoSrc11Oct2013.zip

Posted: Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:31 am
by orion70
Thanks again Kweepa :D

Posted: Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:37 am
by orion70
It's really an excellent achievement: playing the Spiderman adventure on a VIC is something I couldn't even imagine years ago :).

If only someone could take care of the whole Z-machine project on Infocom adventures, then the IF offer on the VIC would be really complete (unfortunately, TNT's interpreter works but no savegame, and the German team effort is currently not working).