Yoho - Scott Adams interpreter

Discussion, Reviews & High-scores

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Tue Oct 01, 2013 11:16 pm

Fixed a couple of other bugs:
- failed get in an action now stops the action
- exchanging counters now works - fixes Sorcerer of Claymorgue Castle immediately killing you, and probably all sorts of other problems

I think this is in good shape now.
I will try an initial release.

User avatar
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Postby Boray » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:25 am

I get a blue thing on the intro screen, blinking like a cursor:

Image

Past the intro screen, it's not there any more.

Other than that, I think the text looks amazing on my Vic. The text looks slightly tilted like you are using some interlace technique or something. I think it has to do with the graininess of the CR models.
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)

User avatar
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Postby Boray » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:32 am

You get the exact same thing in VICE if you load the program, then press CLR-HOME then go 4 characters down. Then RUN.
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Wed Oct 02, 2013 10:46 am

Hey yeah, those characters DO look italic! Sweet!

Hmm, I guess that IS the cursor, because I'm using cgetc() there.
I'll have to avoid functions that display a cursor.

Also found a couple of bugs with consecutive spaces, one in input and one in output :) At least I'm consistent I guess...
Typing "get gold" in The Golden Voyage, you pick up the palace guards!

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Wed Oct 02, 2013 11:44 pm

Fixed some bugs:
- stack overflow corrupting the right hand side of the screen
- flashing cursor corruption
- death action now stops other default action lines
New versions uploaded.

malcontent
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:51 pm

Postby malcontent » Thu Oct 03, 2013 7:27 pm

I can force the stack overflow bug (at least in pirate adventure) by just entering an unrecognized command over and over for a minute or so.

Also you should allow the short hand directions "n,w,e,w".

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Thu Oct 03, 2013 8:03 pm

Thanks for the bug report!
I fixed that for sure this time. I had declared a function without __fastcall__ so it would clean up the stack incorrectly.
I also added the command abbreviations n, s, e, w, u, d, i.
New versions in the usual place.

malcontent
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:51 pm

Postby malcontent » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:24 am

Pirate Adventure bugs when you pick up the parrot but have dropped the crackers somewhere else.

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Fri Oct 04, 2013 10:26 am

Yay! Thanks, I'll take a look.

malcontent
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 1:51 pm

Postby malcontent » Fri Oct 04, 2013 1:02 pm

I found one more, when the warning is given about your torch about to run out of light, if you "unlight torch" the area you are in will turn dark (even if it wasn't before). Again, I'm playing through pirate adventure.

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Fri Oct 04, 2013 2:33 pm

Fixed the parrot issue. Any move obj to obj command (in an action line) corrupted the action stream. Oops.
New version in usual place.

Will look at the torch!
[EDIT] Fixed light code. Now uses flag[15] everywhere.

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Sun Oct 06, 2013 12:03 pm

Fixed a collection of get and drop bugs (for example you could type 'GET' in Voodoo Castle next to the sapphire door, and pick it up!).
Fixed conflation of light and counter (lots of problems with Impossible Mission fixed).
New versions in the usual place.
[EDIT] Now with ability to type in digits. Useful (!) for Voodoo Castle.

User avatar
Kweepa
Vic 20 Scientist
Posts: 1089
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2008 5:11 pm
Location: Austin, Texas
Occupation: Game maker

Postby Kweepa » Fri Oct 11, 2013 8:18 pm

A bit more cleanup.
Played a couple of games start to finish (Voodoo Castle, The Golden Baton).
I think this is done now!
Thanks for the testing, folks!

Source is available here:
http://www.kweepa.com/step/vic20/YohoSrc11Oct2013.zip

User avatar
orion70
Meteo VIC
Posts: 3299
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Postby orion70 » Sat Oct 12, 2013 1:31 am

Thanks again Kweepa :D

User avatar
orion70
Meteo VIC
Posts: 3299
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Postby orion70 » Thu Oct 17, 2013 6:37 am

It's really an excellent achievement: playing the Spiderman adventure on a VIC is something I couldn't even imagine years ago :).

If only someone could take care of the whole Z-machine project on Infocom adventures, then the IF offer on the VIC would be really complete (unfortunately, TNT's interpreter works but no savegame, and the German team effort is currently not working).


Return to “Games”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests