The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Discuss anything related to the VIC

Moderator: Moderators

16KVIC20
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 456
Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 5:02 am

The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby 16KVIC20 » Wed Oct 04, 2017 1:33 pm

I haven't been here for some time until recently, and I hadn't used my VIC much either.

Recently I fished out my Dragon 32 for curiosity, and then I bought a BBC model B. So then I looked at the C64 again, and loaded up some games, and then I turned to the VIC 20, my first, humble computer.
And just wow!

This is still an amazing little machine. In the right hands this little computer packs a punch with the rest of them.
It probably has the best versions of Space Invaders and Pac Man. TETRIS is better on the VIC than on the BBC.
Some of the recent software that I have downloaded form here we never would have dreamt possible in the 80s.

So this is a thread for the love of the VIC 20, the friendly computer.

I couldn't get any of my Spectrums to work.... That about says it for Sinclair.

User avatar
toby405
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 40
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2012 8:33 pm
Location: USA

Re: The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby toby405 » Thu Jan 04, 2018 1:42 pm

I'm loving my Vic-20 today because it's the only area of my computing life where I don't have to worry about meltdown and spectre. The 6502 is definitely not vulnerable!

https://meltdownattack.com/

Gyro Gearloose
Vic 20 Dabbler
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:26 pm
Location: Montreal
Occupation: Drunk

Re: The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby Gyro Gearloose » Thu Jan 04, 2018 7:02 pm

And even if someone figures out how to install Skynet remotely on a VIC-20, that power switch is physical. Click. Off. No soft switches, no 32-bit micro-controllers running entire real-time operating systems to monitor a power switch, no hidden processors.... No system management, no BIOS, no legacy support, no FLASH chips.

User avatar
Mike
Herr VC
Posts: 3117
Joined: Wed Dec 01, 2004 1:57 pm
Location: Munich, Germany
Occupation: electrical engineer

Re: The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby Mike » Fri Jan 05, 2018 11:44 am

Gyro Gearloose wrote:even if someone figures out how to install Skynet remotely on a VIC-20

I did.

that power switch is physical. Click. Off.

Skynet is patient and will just take over your VIC-20 again as soon as you switch it on. :mrgreen:

User avatar
Floopy
Vic 20 Enthusiast
Posts: 182
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:38 pm
Location: US

Re: The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby Floopy » Sat Jan 06, 2018 11:30 am

You can't stop it its power is unlimited :twisted: :twisted: :twisted:
-Floopy

r.cade
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Mar 02, 2014 3:50 pm

Re: The VIC 20 is brilliant thread

Postby r.cade » Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:10 pm

Well, since the 6502 has no memory or register protection, then yes of course the 6502 is "vulnerable".

All memory and registers are always available to any other program you run. :)
--
Pete Rittwage
C64 Preservation Project
http://c64preservation.com


Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest