Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Discuss anything related to the VIC

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Radical Brad
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 105
Joined: Sat Jun 24, 2017 8:18 pm
Website: http://www.lucidscience.com
Location: Kakabeka Falls, ONT
Occupation: hACKER

Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby Radical Brad » Sat Jun 24, 2017 10:07 pm

Once and a while, I unbox my Commodore collection, and power them up...

Image

The 2 VICs in my collection are still working perfectly.
One is original, and on modded for composite video.

The PET 4016 is the oldest of the gang, and it also works.
Last week my Core-7 Dell system bit the dust.

6502 is king!

Cheers,
Radical Brad

User avatar
joshuadenmark
Big Mover
Posts: 911
Joined: Sat Oct 23, 2010 11:32 am
Location: Denmark
Occupation: Copier technician

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby joshuadenmark » Sun Jun 25, 2017 1:35 am

Hi Radical Brad

Really nice collection, that how it's working for me too. I envy you for the PET :)

Welcome to our friendly forum Radical Brad.
Kind regards, Peter.
____________________________________________________
In need of a wiki logon - PM me

cvga
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 10
Joined: Sat Apr 09, 2016 9:21 pm

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby cvga » Sun Jun 25, 2017 8:52 am

Nice! Everything looks like it's in great condition. I have a bunch of Verbatim disks that I purchased back in the day also :)

Here's a picture of the "Commodore Corner" of my gameroom. I always keep by C-64 and Vic-20 hooked up.

Image

User avatar
cbmeeks
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue May 18, 2004 12:36 pm
Website: http://meeks.co
Location: 8-bit Land
Occupation: Code Monkey

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby cbmeeks » Mon Jun 26, 2017 12:48 pm

Nice collection Brad. I follow many of your posts over at 6502.org.

I also have a PET (8032) that recently the monitor died (or maybe just some caps..not sure yet).

So if you decide to power up that PET, whatever you do....don't leave it unattended!

It took two days for the stink to leave my house after my 8032 started popping and sizzling. lol
Cat; the other white meat.

napabar
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Sep 28, 2017 12:14 pm

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby napabar » Thu Oct 12, 2017 12:18 pm

Why would you need to mod a VIC for composite video? It already supports it with a monitor cable.

User avatar
ral-clan
plays wooden flutes
Posts: 3521
Joined: Thu Jan 26, 2006 2:01 pm
Location: Canada

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby ral-clan » Fri Oct 13, 2017 5:18 am

Welcome. Nice to have another Ontarian here. Your web-site is impressive! I also started around 1978 on my school's PET, although you are waaaay beyond me in terms of your electronics skills.
Image Music I've made with 1980s electronics, synths and other retro-instruments: http://theovoids.bandcamp.com

User avatar
Boray
Musical Smurf
Posts: 4026
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 10:47 am

Re: Vic-20... still keeps on tickin'

Postby Boray » Fri Oct 13, 2017 11:18 am

Radical Brad wrote:One is original, and on modded for composite video.


But the vic-20 already have composite video out as standard?!
PRG Starter - a VICE helper / Vic Software (Boray Gammon, SD2IEC music player, Vic Disk Menu, Tribbles, Mega Omega, How Many 8K etc.)


Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Mayhem and 2 guests