Newbie VIC-20 questions

Discuss anything related to the VIC
lgb
Vic 20 Drifter

Newbie VIC-20 questions

Post by lgb »

Sorry, if it's off-topic, or already answered somewhere where I didn't try to find on the forum ... I'm new to the VIC-20, but I'm interested in almost every 8 bit machines, even after their golden age :) Now, at my parent's house, I've discovered that I actually *own* a VIC-20 I couldn't even remembered before! Oh well, what a shame. Also, I have a VIC-20 as a board only, no keyboard or case. Honestly, I can't remember when I got these. Another shame OK :) But the questions now:

Can I use a C64 power supply to try these sweet machines? And another question: is the video connector has the same pinout as with C64, so I can use the very same composite video cable as I can use with the C64?

Thanks a lot in advance!

mrr19121970
Vic 20 Nerd

Re: Newbie VIC-20 questions

Post by mrr19121970 »

You can use a 5vDC/9vAC C64 PSU on the VIC20, but not the other way around. The VIC20 PSU has a lower rating on the 5vDC which will break the PSU and then the C64. Assuming you have a 5 PIN DIN composite cable for the C64, then yes you can use this on the VIC20. You need to do a mod to get S-Video. You can use any IEC device on your VIC20 too (1541, SD2IEC or even 1541UK)

I am not sure why you posted a pic of a VIC20 and said you don't have a keyboard or case. You can use C64 keyboard and case, but the cartridge post will not be properly accessible.
lgb
Vic 20 Drifter

Post by lgb »

mrr19121970 wrote:You can use a 5vDC/9vAC C64 PSU on the VIC20, but not the other way around. The VIC20 PSU has a lower rating on the 5vDC which will break the PSU and then the C64. Assuming you have a 5 PIN DIN composite cable for the C64, then yes you can use this on the VIC20. You need to do a mod to get S-Video. You can use any IEC device on your VIC20 too (1541, SD2IEC or even 1541UK)
Ok, nice to hear, thank you very much for the reply.