VICMIDI release date?

Discuss anything related to the VIC

Moderator: Moderators

User avatar
Schema
factor
Posts: 1410
Joined: Tue Mar 23, 2004 7:07 am
Website: http://www.jammingsignal.com
Location: Toronto, Ontario

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby Schema » Tue Apr 26, 2016 1:02 pm

brain wrote:I am starting to put material here

Cool. Needs a link to that page from http://store.go4retro.com/vic-20-midi-cartridge/ as well. I'm not sure what the "main" page for the product should be to point folks to!

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Tue Apr 26, 2016 7:07 pm

The page has been fleshed out more:

http://www.go4retro.com/products/vicmidi/

User avatar
majikeyric
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:08 pm
Website: http://majikeyric.free.fr
Location: France

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby majikeyric » Tue Jun 21, 2016 7:09 am

There is a difference between VICMidi and UltiMem in the use of the switch0 :

On VICMidi : holding down switch0 on reset, well disables BLK5 but also for all subsequent resets.
The VIC20 need to be restarted to access the boot-menu again.

On UltiMem :holding down switch0 on reset, only disables BLK5 for that reset.

Is it a normal behaviour for the VICMidi ?

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Tue Jun 21, 2016 6:11 pm

They operate the same way on my units here.

Can someone else verify?

If not, then it might just be an issue with your unit and we might need to replace.

alterus
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 4:29 pm
Website: http://centronian.servebeer.com/
Location: Victoria BC

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby alterus » Wed Jun 22, 2016 4:49 pm

Hey, I was just looking at the VICMIDI store page ( http://store.go4retro.com/vic-20-midi-cartridge/ ) and see that the Schema's midi software is now included in the cart. Is there some update firmware we can load up? Also, is there an editor we can use to select which software we'd like to be included on the cart?

Thanks

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Wed Jun 22, 2016 6:45 pm

alterus wrote:Hey, I was just looking at the VICMIDI store page ( http://store.go4retro.com/vic-20-midi-cartridge/ ) and see that the Schema's midi software is now included in the cart.

Yep. FLash:

http://go4retro.com/downloads/VICMIDI/midi/ultimem.bin

to your unit.

Is there some update firmware we can load up? Also, is there an editor we can use to select which software we'd like to be included on the cart?

Thanks


Not yet. It should be easy to create, so I am hoping someone can help.

JIm

User avatar
majikeyric
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:08 pm
Website: http://majikeyric.free.fr
Location: France

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby majikeyric » Fri Jun 24, 2016 7:55 am

No VICMidi owner can verify if holding down switch0 on reset, well disables BLK5 but also for all subsequent resets
and therefore the VIC20 need to be restarted to access the boot-menu again ? :(

traymond20
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 15
Joined: Sun May 29, 2016 3:18 pm
Location: U.S.A. WYOMING

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby traymond20 » Mon Jun 27, 2016 8:53 pm

Hi all and Jim Brain :)

If using a Flat Screen TV in Composite Mode and Zooming as far down as you can for the Vic-20 or C64 screen.
powering up works fine. I ran Jims program to flash all the games to the cartridge that seemed to flash okay.

Using this TV (Above info) With Cartridge switch on the Rom wouldn't come up, just said NO SIGNAL.
I finally wondered about this TV so I dragged out my 1084 Monitor tried again, walla it finally did work, and I used Jim's
VIC Midi program that booted okay and my Midi keyboard works okay with different Channels, cool.

I also did get from here the pokes to use in basic for Expanded Ram, so awesome to be able to do this with a few pokes and no dip switches, and
the reset switch is very useful.

As to the Flat Screen TV signal I'm using a CBm monitor cable that uses the DIN connector and the other ends plug into the monitor, would
I need to instead use the VHF RCA video connector instead for the Video connection to get the correct signal?

When I have time I will tinker with some snapshots I seem to remember having Cannonball Blitz was always my favorite in High School on the
Apple II, was this a Donkey Kong version at all?

Thanks again everybody for your help I may need help with my snapshots, well these were Vic snapshots I had downloaded years ago
some I figured out which memory banks were used etc, I always used my 2 CBM 8K memory expanders using their dip switches, so
I might write some loaders.

BTW here on this forum can we upload Vic programs, or game snapshots?
traymond

alterus
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 4:29 pm
Website: http://centronian.servebeer.com/
Location: Victoria BC

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby alterus » Tue Jul 05, 2016 12:26 am

brain wrote:
alterus wrote:Hey, I was just looking at the VICMIDI store page ( http://store.go4retro.com/vic-20-midi-cartridge/ ) and see that the Schema's midi software is now included in the cart.

Yep. FLash:

http://go4retro.com/downloads/VICMIDI/midi/ultimem.bin

to your unit.

Is there some update firmware we can load up? Also, is there an editor we can use to select which software we'd like to be included on the cart?

Thanks


Not yet. It should be easy to create, so I am hoping someone can help.

JIm



I downloaded the new ultimem.bin file, but its only 8 kb. Is that right? The previous one was 444 kb. I don't want to mess up my VICMIDI with a corrupted image... Thanks!

User avatar
majikeyric
Vic 20 Devotee
Posts: 239
Joined: Fri Oct 24, 2014 2:08 pm
Website: http://majikeyric.free.fr
Location: France

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby majikeyric » Tue Jul 05, 2016 2:56 am

AFAIR There is just the vicmidi software in this 8k ultimem.bin.

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Sun Jul 10, 2016 10:01 pm

majikeyric wrote:AFAIR There is just the vicmidi software in this 8k ultimem.bin.


Correct. I can see about making an ultimem binary with all the games and the midi SW, if wanted.

Jim

alterus
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 4:29 pm
Website: http://centronian.servebeer.com/
Location: Victoria BC

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby alterus » Tue Jul 12, 2016 12:15 am

brain wrote:
majikeyric wrote:AFAIR There is just the vicmidi software in this 8k ultimem.bin.


Correct. I can see about making an ultimem binary with all the games and the midi SW, if wanted.

Jim


That would be great! But even better would be letting us all know how to make our own ultimem binaries... I would really love to put together my own collection.

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:24 pm

Understood.

I'll see if Marko can put together a "how to" on building an image.

Jim

brain
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 425
Joined: Sun Jul 04, 2004 10:12 pm

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby brain » Sun Jul 24, 2016 8:32 pm

majikeyric wrote:No VICMidi owner can verify if holding down switch0 on reset, well disables BLK5 but also for all subsequent resets
and therefore the VIC20 need to be restarted to access the boot-menu again ? :(

OK, figured it out.

It appears the 10K pullup resistors on the 2 switches were not installed during manufacturing. It's my fault, I forgot to update the bill of materials before final manufacturing

The good news:
  • I found the issue
  • The fix is pretty small (2 resistors)
  • I will fix the issue on all unsold units
The less good news:
  • They are 0402 resistors (1 mm by .5 mm in size, approximately)
  • They have to be soldered on
Luckily, I know who all bought them, so I'll be getting in touch with each buyer.

There are a few options:
  • Do nothing for the moment. Though I do want to fix all of them at some point, some of the units already have residual pullup current on the line (a function of CPLD pin leakage, I think) and function fine. Note that they all tested fine here and we use the switch during testing.
  • Order 2 resistors and solder them on yourself. Not recommended for most folks, as they are small
  • Work with me to swap units. I'll take care of all shipping
  • If you come to a show I will be at, bring the unit and swap

If you want to see where they go, look for R26 and R27 right to the left of the top mounted switches.

My apologies.

Jim

alterus
Vic 20 Amateur
Posts: 52
Joined: Wed May 13, 2015 4:29 pm
Website: http://centronian.servebeer.com/
Location: Victoria BC

Re: VICMIDI release date?

Postby alterus » Tue Aug 30, 2016 12:39 am

Hey, I've been trying to get the cartridge prg files from zimmers to run with the VIC MIDI. I enable all ram and the programs wont start. Does anyone know how to get these working? Here are the files i'm trying: http://www.zimmers.net/anonftp/pub/cbm/ ... index.html


Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest