rca adpter cable - vic 20

Discuss anything related to the VIC

Moderator: Moderators

redgrass
Vic 20 Newbie
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu May 26, 2016 1:56 pm

rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby redgrass » Tue Sep 05, 2017 5:33 pm

Can anyone tell me if the rca adapter cable for the vic 20 works properly??? eg.
http://www.ebay.com/itm/Cable-AV-Commod ... SwcwhVKV3M

User avatar
srowe
Vic 20 Afficionado
Posts: 468
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2014 3:19 pm

Re: rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby srowe » Wed Sep 06, 2017 1:00 am

Looks like the same cable as I use with my VIC.

ridgerunner
Vic 20 Drifter
Posts: 27
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:59 am

Re: rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby ridgerunner » Wed Sep 06, 2017 3:37 am

I'm using a similar cable on both my VIC & C16, I got mine from ebay seller Retrocomputershack, it's works lovely and is very well made. I also bought a SCART lead for my speccy +2 from them and that is up to the same high standards.

User avatar
Floopy
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:38 pm
Location: US
Occupation: Mechatronics

Re: rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby Floopy » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:07 am

If you have a soldering iron and a nice steady hand you can build one yourself.
Anyway, if it works for the C64 it will work for the VIC-20. The pinouts on the ports are almost identical.
You may need to adjust your picture though.
-Floopy

User avatar
Floopy
Vic 20 Hobbyist
Posts: 111
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2017 7:38 pm
Location: US
Occupation: Mechatronics

Re: rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby Floopy » Thu Sep 07, 2017 9:19 am

I wanted to post the pinout out but it wont work. The difference between the vic-20 and c64 video output is pin #1 on the vic it's 5V+ and on the 64 it is luminance .
-Floopy

User avatar
orion70
Meteo VIC
Posts: 3288
Joined: Thu Feb 02, 2006 4:45 am
Location: Piacenza, Italy
Occupation: Biologist

Re: rca adpter cable - vic 20

Postby orion70 » Fri Sep 08, 2017 5:46 am

Commodore video pinout, computer side:

Universal (C64 - VIC - C16 - Plus4)
Image

C64 and Plus4 only w/separate luma and chroma (better quality)
Image


Return to “General Topics”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest